Anyone installed yosemite on a 2010 macbook pro?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by sam.walker22, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. sam.walker22 macrumors member

    sam.walker22

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #1
    Just wondering how it handles? I installed the first beta and it made my macbook so slow it was barely useable, but that was the first beta.
     
  2. rosas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    #2
    I'm also curious about this.
    I have a mid 2010 13' mbp base model with a SSD upgrade

    I'm worried that the core2duo processor and integrated graphics won't handle yosemite well...
     
  3. mcrum23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    #3
    I just installed yosemite on my macbook pro 2010 core 2 duo 2.6ghz SSD drive 8 gig or RAM and it's fine, I don't see any difference with maverick.
     
  4. T-Will macrumors 6502a

    T-Will

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #4
    Upgraded from Mavericks, no negative impact to performance as far as I notice, but the SSD helps a lot (even when I was running Mavericks).

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  5. osx11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    #5
    2010 13" MBP here with 8GB RAM and a SSD.

    Installed Yosemite today and it has been at least as good as Mavericks.

    I can only recommend the upgrade.

    No lag or any other graphics related issues. Has been a perfect upgrade so far.
     
  6. SgtPepper23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #6
    Thanks for this! I was wondering the same thing with the same laptop as you. I'm probably just going to update for the time being and when i update some more hardware, i'll do a clean!
     
  7. SgtPepper23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #7
    Thanks for this! I was wondering the same thing with the same laptop as you. I'm probably just going to update for the time being and when i update some more hardware, i'll do a clean!
     
  8. danakm macrumors regular

    danakm

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #8
    My 15" MBP from mid-2009 with 8GB of RAM, but without SSD is doing fine :)
     
  9. Maskusee macrumors 6502a

    Maskusee

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #9
    I am on Mid 2010 macBoom Pro.
    Updated from Maverick this morning. Made a few mistakes by turning iCloud Drive on, should have waited.

    Otherwise, so far so good, but haven't really used any of the features yet.
    Overall, MBPro seems stable, no issues.
     
  10. Zapp21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #10
    I have the Macbook Pro 2010 15" with 8GB Ram, SSD, Nvidia GT330M 256MB and a 2,4Ghz i5 processor. When working with my external display (24", 1920x1200) i have some serious lags in graphics. I've had them on Mavericks as well. But they got even worse on Yosemite now :/
    Feels like 3fps when switching spaces or launching Mission Control.

    Really annoying!
     
  11. HailToTheVictor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #11
    I have the same machine (regular HDD) and have been running Yosemite since PB4.

    Using Mission Control, even without an external attached, makes the system jittery and there is a full second delay before the machine actually shows all open windows.

    The whole system has a terrible lag and really seems like it running at 5 fps.

    Opening Chrome can take 30-45 seconds before a window opens and then another minute before a page loads.

    This Mac has now had four OSs and I have never done a clean install because I've never had such an issue before. Is is worth trying the clean install? I haven't done it before and I'm a little leery to proceed.
     
  12. T-Will macrumors 6502a

    T-Will

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #12
    I've seen some reports on these forums that some Yosemite installs aren't recognizing the video card or something funky, it sounds like you might be seeing that. I haven't heard if doing a clean install will help.
     
  13. Pow!, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014

    Pow! macrumors member

    Pow!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    #13
    Working fine here on a 2010 MacBook Pro 13".

    [​IMG]

    Have started replacing icons by hand (Get Info) and with LiteIcon. Very pleased with the dark menu bar and Dock option in System Preferences->General.

    Edit: Everything is great with a second display attached as well, in general use and in Final Cut Pro X.
     

Share This Page