Anyone know how to repair a corrupt disk?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Alexsb1, Feb 14, 2012.

1. Alexsb1, Feb 14, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012

Alexsb1 macrumors newbie

Final Cut Pro 7 has been continually crashing on me, citing my graphics card as the reason. I also get lots of "out of memory" errors, when I have plenty of hard drive space, free RAM, and relatively simple sequences. I doubt that my graphics card is the real problem because I just got a new one in November. I've been editing high res video files on this computer for almost 4 years with no problems until now. I tried to use Disk Utility but the "Repair Disk" button is grayed out so I tried "Verify Disk" but it says that my disk is corrupt and cannot be verified. I've read postings that say to start up my computer with the installation disk, but I no longer have it. Any thoughts? Should I try upgrading to Lion? I'm just hesitant to do that because I'll probably end up replacing this computer soon anyway.

Computer specs:
    15" MacBook Pro ~2008
    2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT

Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Mal macrumors 603

Mal

You'll need another tool if Disk Utility can't fix it. I'd recommend DiskWarrior from Alsoft, I've used it for years with good success.

jW

3. fisherking macrumors 603

fisherking

diskwarrior, as stated above. has saved me on a few occasions...

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

I use Disk Warrior as well. Works great for fixing corrupt disks and recovering broken file directories.

That said, if you have this corruption issue a lot (or this computer is important for work), I'd consider getting a replacement drive.

5. thefizzle657 macrumors regular