Anyone know if the GPS will have altitude data?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by LoneWolf121188, Jun 16, 2008.

1. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

Like it says. I could think of some really cools apps that would make good use of 3D GPS data. And if it doesn't, would it be theoretically possible to hack it to get altitude data?

2. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

PoitNarf

All GPS units can keep track of approximate altitude, just that most car navigation units do not display this data because most drivers don't care. I doubt the Google Maps app will display altitude info, but I'm sure someone will come up with an app that just displays raw GPS data including altitude info.

3. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

SFStateStudent

Why didn't I see you at the WWDC last week? :confused:

4. LoneWolf121188 thread starter macrumors 6502a

ummm...cause I'm not a developer? I've taken Java 100...that's about my limit of programming experience. :)

I suppose asking for the GPS to be WAAS-enabled would be too much to ask for, huh? :D

5. kleo macrumors regular

As far as i know GPS only gives you a latitude and longitude coordinate. GIS devices have topographical maps stored locally and use very precise GPS radios. They then use the lookup method to determine your altitude coordinate. So if you had access to topo maps of the entire US (or world) you could indeed get altitude from the iPhone GPS.

Oh and check out the new maps.google.com it was recently updated to include a topo map view :)

6. onlycopunk macrumors 6502

Considering the GPS is going to be all real time, then yes no reason why you couldn't find your approximate altitude.

7. Niiro13 macrumors 68000

Actually, you don't need to be. You just need to shell out what, $3.5K?

Anyway, real time navigation software is against the new SDK agreement. That puts a huge wound in turn by turn directions. Apple has to approve of it first. Most likely only one company is going to be able to even get turn by turn directions.