Anyone on MacRumors play Chess?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Melrose, Apr 9, 2008.

1. Melrose Suspended

Melrose

Does anyone here play chess?

I've been a student of the game (somewhat, that is) for a few years but have a hard time finding people to play against, so I found GameKnot.com.. (that's a referral link from me). It's pretty cool because I've played people from all over the world, Russia, Korea, Iran, Scotland, Brazil... and it's free (which can't be beat)

What's your favourite opening and how long have you been playing?

If you like look me up on that site my username's 'North'... it'd be great to play a few of the familiar faces from here!

2. absolut_mac macrumors 6502a

absolut_mac

I used to play a lot on Yahoo and on Kasparov's old site before it closed. My wife is VERY happy that I don't play that much any more.

Chess, it's not a game it's an obsession!

3. UWSpindoctor macrumors regular

I've been playing on and off (more off) for the last 11 years or so. I was always partial to the Ruy Lopez opening.

4. Melrose thread starter Suspended

Melrose

My grandmother (who taught me how to play) always used the Ruy - it's sad to see it's become unpopular on the high levels..

I'm quite partial to the Sicilian and the English openings - I like playing off-center and closed.

5. benmrii macrumors 65816

benmrii

I love to play chess. My favorite opening usually starts either with pawns or sometimes knights.

Crap, did I just give away that I'm not very good? I honestly do love to play, but from the look of the posts above I'm not going to play any of you. :rolleyes:

6. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

iJohnHenry

Exactly.

If someone uses the word "gambit", run like hell.

:D

ATTENTION: This was post 101. Let's see if I can sit at the big people table now. ;)

7. nikopolidis macrumors regular

I used to play chess either. I was rather good player.
    I remember when I was studying in England I even won a chess tournament there. ;)