Anyone on MacRumors replaced caps?

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by 840quadra, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #1
    Greetings,

    While I am happy to report that my 840av is still working well, and shows no signs of capacitor failure, I still want to look into replacing mine in the near future.

    With my experience doing similar work on industrial control equipment, for some reason, I am a bit more apprehensive about attacking the same problem on a perfectly good apple logic board. Has anyone out here done this, how were your results?
     
  2. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #2
    Doing the capacitors before they start leaking is a great idea. With no leakage you could replace 1 cap at a time and make sure every cap you replace is correct. Very time consuming but practical if you are worried.

    I have done quite a few macs, and battery explosions are the worst and have yet to save 1 that has had that. Caps leaking tend to eat traces and that is hard to see and find.

    I wash my boards before i pull the old caps, after they are pulled and once more after instal as the goo has usually had years to buildup wherever it is hiding.

    If you find no leakage at all, which you will almost have some where you remove the caps themselves, cleaning with alcohol and vinegar will usually do the trick.
     
  3. 840quadra thread starter Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. How was the install for you? I hope to tackle this as a winter project, but need to get some new tips for my weller, and see if I can find my leaded solder and liquid flux!

    Where did you source your caps? There once was a good source off of LEM, but it appears links to those stores are now dead. :(
     
  4. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #4
    i use mouser for caps, but there are a few places. I usually make a list when i pull the board, never kept a list tho sorry.
     

Share This Page

3 September 19, 2017