Anyone out there right now? Cable question, at walmart now

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ame8199, May 9, 2011.

  1. ame8199 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #1
    I'm gonna give this a shot so I don't have to come back to walmart. I'm in the process of transferring all my info from my old Mac to my new one. Came to walmart to get a FireWire cable well they don't have any. My next choice is Ethernet... Which one do I get? Cat 5e or 6?

    For some reason my wireless connection keeps dropping when I go to connect both computers

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. BFW122083 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
    #2
    They will both work. Cat6 will give you better data transfer rates :) I had to do the same thing two months ago.
     
  3. ame8199 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
  4. BFW122083 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
    #4
    Also ethernet transfer will be WAY faster than going through wifi.
     
  5. BFW122083 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
  6. ame8199 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
  7. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #7
    Do Mac's auto MDIX? If not that cable needs to be a crossover, not a regular ethernet if just a cable between two machines..

    Always did it with a switch so it didn't matter to me.
     
  8. ame8199 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
  9. ame8199 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #9
    All I want to do us transfer my stuff from my old late 2007 MacBook pro to my new 2011 MacBook pro

    Before I open it, will just a cat 6 Ethernet cord do the job?
     
  10. BFW122083 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
  11. ame8199 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
  12. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #12
    Yes, as most computers and NIC cards these days do. Crossover cables are dinosaurs.
     
  13. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #13
    Thanks.. Key word "most" which is why I asked. Had honestly never tried to even know.
     
  14. BFW122083 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
    #14
    Now that I think about it you could have used the ethernet cable going from your modem to your router.
     

Share This Page