Anyone plan on using Windows XP past next spring?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Airforcekid, Dec 11, 2013.

1. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

Airforcekid

I have been to several local businesses, schools etc and noticed they still use XP even some police departments they probably don't know support is ending. I was wondering if anyone plans on using it for their business/home use etc after support ends?

2. roadbloc macrumors G3

roadbloc

My XP craptop probably can't support anything newer, but since Windows 8 is maintaining full compatibility with XP apps, I doubt it will become unusable and redundant fast.

3. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

I'm a contractor for an affiliate of a corporation that employs 275,000. Most of the system where I'm at are iMacs and MacBook Pros. The few Windows machines that are around are running XP, but they are transitioning to 7.

On the home front, I'm finally moving my parents out of XP. I just upgraded my dad's old XP laptop to an SSD and Windows 8.1. I just need to pop in another 2 GB of RAM, and it will be all set. Even with just a single 2 GB RAM stick, it feels so much better than it did with XP.

4. clukas macrumors 6502a

clukas

Nope and could not recommend anyone does with a clear conscience. There have been some reports that hackers may be delaying releasing their latest malware until Microsofts end of support deadline to ensure their exploits are not patched. Windows xp will become a massive security vulnerability and anyone still using it should seriously start migrating. Its actually quite concerning how many businesses still rely on Windows xp.

5. Airforcekid thread starter macrumors 65816

Airforcekid