Anyone running dual 27" ACDs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by BENJMNS, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. BENJMNS macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #1
    Just wondering if my 13 Ultimate has the horsepower to run two big screens at the same time.

    What plug or contraption do I need to run this setup? TIA
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    You wont be able to run dual 27" Cinema Displays at full resolution. The best you'll be able to do is to run each monitor at half resolution with the Matrox DualHead2Go.
     
  3. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #3
    Thunderbolt's 10 Mbps is barely enough to push out the pixels on such a setup. Anyway, since the ACDs use DP 1.1a and so does the MBA, you can't exactly connect both monitors at the same time using the 1 port.

    Matrox doesn't have any solutions that can power 2 such high resolution monitors from 1 DP either.

    You can do much better than "half". Matrox's DH2G can power 2 2048x1156 monitors from the MBA's MDP.
     
  4. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    He is asking about his current MBA which doesn't have Thunderbolt.


    OK, but it is still less than the native resolution of that 27" Apple Cinema Display at 2560 by 1440.
     
  5. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
  6. BENJMNS thread starter macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005

Share This Page