Anyone running Leopard with 512MB RAM??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by anti-microsoft, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. anti-microsoft macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #1
    If so, do you find it slow? And again, If so, Should I upgrade my RAM first or after upgrading to Leopard?
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    What computer are you using! I would say 512 is not enough for Tiger even. Get 2gigs (at least) and forget about it.
     
  3. acxz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #3
    Put simply, it doesn't work. Trying to work in Leopard while running Vista in VMW Fusion as it uses 1.5 of my 2GB of RAM is like wading through an ocean of treacle. Don't even attempt it without adding more RAM (which you should be doing anyway as it's so damn cheap at the moment).
     
  4. one1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    #4
    With a little smart shopping you can bump your machine to 2 gigs of ram for less than the price of a fill up of petrol. You can't argue with that for value.
     
  5. anti-microsoft thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #5
    I'm running a Rev A 1.83GHz MacBook with a 60GB HD and 512MB RAM, I think I'll buy the Ram first (I'll max it out at 2GB) then I'll consider leopard!

    Thanks guys!

    AMS
     
  6. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #6
    My wife sure is! I put it on her iBook G4 (1.33Mhz, 512MB) and it works fine. Granted she doesn't do anything processor intensive, but it still works fine. Safari is snappy enough and iTunes works great.

    However, I have been meaning to upgrade the RAM on that machine.
     
  7. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    Okay, if not 512 MB, then how about 768 MB? I've got an iBook G4 that's currently running Panther. I don't really want to upgrade the hardware but I've got a family pack so I could upgrade the OS. Everything works fine except I get kernel panics every couple days.

    Oh, and my son is actually running Leopard on a core solo mini with 512 MB. It's slow, but it works.
     
  8. anti-microsoft thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #8
    I Think I've changed my mind now:D:D!!!

    I'm going to buy leopard first. THEN if I find it slow I'll buy more ram... as one1 said:
    And he's exactly right! 40€ for 2GB is a great bargin I think!
     
  9. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #9
    Thats a good idea... test it out first and then see how everything runs. If you need more RAM, just go to Crucial.com and order it!

    Good Luck!
     
  10. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #10
    Leopard and 256MB of ram :) Ya, its needs more but works well.
     

Share This Page