Anyone running Sierra on the rMB?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jclardy, Jun 14, 2016.

  1. jclardy macrumors 68040

    jclardy

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #1
    Wondering if anyone is running the new Sierra beta, and if so, how is it doing? I'm contemplating installing it on my 2015 rMB as it is my tertiary computer at the moment (Still in the process of selling of my rMBP.)

    My only hesitation is that i'm not sure if Xcode 7 will run on it or not, I think it will but i'd like to still be able to use the machine for development purposes.
     
  2. Ovedius macrumors 6502

    Ovedius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    Never install an OS beta if you need something to work on it, be it Xcode or whatever.
    Just leave it, it'll be out soon enough.
     
  3. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    I set up a separate partition but am accessing the Applications folder from my main drive. As always, I'd suggest being careful with early betas as they tend to be buggy. That said, apart from a handful of 3rd party utilities most of my main applications seem to work.
     
  4. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, USA
    #4
    Assume there's something you need to use that won't work. I know you say your rMB is tertiary at the moment, but if you sell your rMBP, the rMB is no longer tertiary and going back to El Cap will be a bit of a pain.
     
  5. thadoggfather Suspended

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #5
    1) what is the partition type you used,
    and disk utility within el cap? how much space set aside for it, 20gb?
    2)and how do you point apps to el cap /apps folder,
    does that make any changes to them once r/w from macos sierra render them invalid on el cap partition?
    3)And last question can i re-merge and gain the space back if its a terd? dual boot flexibiltiy seems best vs going CCC to external, sierra as primary and falling back to restore on el cap,


    thanks
     
  6. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #6
    I used a regular partition that I gave 120GB but only really needed about 20GB. I have an alias in the Dock to the Applications folder from my El Capitan partition and just boot applications from there. Compatible apps open up fine and it has no impact when I boot back into El Capitan. I can't open up my El Capitan documents folder as it is protected but I haven't tried a shared folder yet. If I decide to delete it I'll just go back into Disk Utility from within El Capitan and delete the Sierra partition.
     
  7. thadoggfather Suspended

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #7
    Musta messed up because it installed on main drive :(

    I created separate partition, transferred installer, and loaded it up

    Oh well I hope its smooth-ish I dont have a 10.11.4 backup
     
  8. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #8
    Like others, I just create a separate partition using Disk utility, Download the beta, and install it on the partition.

    I have not played around with Sierra that much, but right away I noticed changes they made to animations so the UI lag is virtually nonexistent. From my experience, the macOS' are way less stable than IOS betas. A lot of apps end up not working or not working correctly. Never ever use a mac beta as your main OS.
     
  9. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #9
    Im waiting the final version.

    Not want try a beta as my 2009 macbook is my main computer.
    this is also the oldest macbook that will run sierra, so will wait most the bugs to be sorted.

    Kind like some of the features in it though.
     
  10. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #10
    If need be, you can revert to 10.11.4 by using Internet Recovery.
     
  11. grinny11 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #11
    I use the beta as my primary OS. I had a problem with slow Safari that I solved with plugins. Every once in a while I get some weird screen distortion when coming out of stand by. I just reboot and it's fine.

    All in all, it works pretty well as a daily driver. It feels very quick, I have very little problems, and all of my apps are compatible.
     
  12. thadoggfather Suspended

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #12
    I am impressed all my apps are compatible as well, also saw the distortion probably a driver issue

    Havent enough time to test but..

    Chrome is so friggin slow, but it may be a plug in
     
  13. grinny11 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #13
    I think I read somewhere that Chrome has something to do with the way it loads fonts. They are working on trying to fix it. I use Chrome Canary. It takes a while to load, but once it does, its runs at normal speed. Totally usable at that point.
     
  14. thadoggfather Suspended

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #14
    When you say forever to load, do you mean to load first page or load the app (on chrome canary)?

    Do you use plugins?

    I use ublock and ghostery

    Sometimes its ok sometimes seems forever to request pages
     
  15. grinny11 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #15
    It probably takes about 10 seconds to load the first page
     

Share This Page