Anyone running Windows on the new Macbook?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Eric S., Oct 22, 2008.

  1. Eric S. macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #1
    I'd like to hear if anyone's experience installing/running Windows on the new Macbook is different than the old Macbook.
     
  2. Clancycoop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #2
    VMware

    I am running Windows XP home edition with VMware fusion (I have to to do my online math assignments) and it works great. (On a 2.4 Alum Macbook)

    My buddy is running XP through parallels and seems to like it (he just converted with the release of the new MacBooks, and is still weening off Windows). He is also running Ubuntu.
     
  3. PCTired macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    I have installed Windows XP Home Service Pak with Fusion

    And have had problems in my MacBook Pro.

    I will explain. The MSN Messenger does not work inasmuch as I cannot use the camera for videoconferencing...no video...no voice.

    Can anyone explain to me why this is not possible?...or at least explain to me why Microsoft is still angry with Apple and does not allow its Messenger be compatible with the Apple software....do we have to continue using...the aMSN software...which by the way it is a great piece of software....only that it has not been polished to use voice over its video camera.....you have to mimick.
     
  4. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    I'm using XP Pro SP3 in both Bootcamp and via Fusion, and everything is working great. My only complaint is that the trackpad drivers in Bootcamp aren't quite up to snuff yet.
     
  5. Eric S. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #5
    In what way? No multitouch?
     
  6. jdwingnut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    In the Redwoods, California
    #6
    I just moved my VMware files over to my new Macbook and all seems to work well.

    I did try to install Ubuntu (from the Live CD) on the new Macbook, but found it would not install all of the drivers needed for this new model of Macbook. I would think that, somewhere, some Linux developers are busy at work on this as I type.

    I am for now, running WinXP, Ubuntu and Kubuntu through VMware Fusion.
     
  7. ScrewzLuse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #7
    I'll post what I posted earlier on it:

    I find the trackpad sucks in Windows. When you try to click, it allows your finger to slide slightly. It means I misclick ALOT. The right click works ok. I sometimes find it inconsistent with recognizing how many fingers are on the trackpad at once. Kind of annoying. All in all, I find the trackpad pretty crappy in Windows. Really needs a driver update.
     
  8. Eric S. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #8
    I wonder if today's Trackpad Firmware Update will improve this performance for Windows.
     
  9. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #9
    ^ nope, it just fixes an issue where it would not click under Leopard.
     
  10. fuzzycuffs macrumors member

    fuzzycuffs

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #10
    I've tried installing XP in Parallels 4.0 on my new macbook and it's alright, but I still haven't gotten the built in iSight to work. I think Apple changed up the iSight camera with this revision, and there isn't a driver for it yet on the Windows side.

    The old iSight drivers floating around won't work. If you force it, Windows will complain and say that the drivers aren't compatible. If anyone has a fix (maybe some edit to the .inf file?), that'd be awesome.

    Or Apple just get off their butts and release a Windows driver for it. :)
     
  11. jbg232 macrumors 65816

    jbg232

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #11
    I'm using vmware fusion with my macbook for office 2007 and it is AWESOME in unity view. I just keep it on and windows in my dock and it does the rest as if I have office 2007 on my mac (which is infinitely more superior than microsoft office 2008 for mac).
     
  12. Eric S. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #12
    I finally got my new Macbook and I echo your complaint. The trackpad performance in Windows is dismal. It often acts as if two fingers are on the pad instead of just one - scrolls up and down instead of just moving the pointer. Selecting a block of text is nearly impossible. Dragging objects is also difficult; in the middle of dragging it stops, as if the finger has been lifted from the pad.

    Other than that I have no major complaints with Windows as yet. I hope Apple has plans to fix these trackpad issues.
     
  13. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #13
    Sorry, this is really old, but the thread got bumped.

    No issues? No crashes? I keep hearing that Windows on these new Nvidia chipsets is unstable.

    ALL my systems use Intel chipsets because they're just rock solid, so I'm not thrilled about this change (though I love Nvidia for GPUs!)
     
  14. idonotliketostu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #14
    multi touchpad is driving me nuts on windows
    also my ethernet driver is missing.. somehow
     
  15. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #15
    You installed the drivers from the CD and the updates from Apple's site?
     
  16. Eric S. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #16
    What updates?
     
  17. jon31rm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    #17
    The increased pressure necessary to physically click the trackpad on the new MacBooks compared to older models makes it nearly impossible to double-click under Boot Camp.

    Anyone on a new MacBook who is used to the older MacBook or MacBook Pro button, just try physically double clicking and you'll realize how much longer the action takes simply because the button is now the entire trackpad, making it more difficult to click - let alone double click.

    I won't be satisfied with the new MacBook/Boot Camp setup until Apple releases working drivers allowing users to tap to click/double click.
     
  18. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #18
    What about:

    -Wifi/bluetooth-anyone know for sure if you can actually get it powered down in Windows? Not just have Windows ignore it?

    -Crashes/data corruption? Sounds like a lot of people are just complaining about the trackpad. I'm fine with that since I'll just use a real mouse anyway...but any instability/data corruption from the non-Intel chipset (and it's drivers) is a big no no for me.
     
  19. robanga macrumors 68000

    robanga

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #19
    I had a last gen MBP, but have installed Windows on an older MB that a coworker had. I have installed it on my new MB. No change in experience really, the new MB does seem to provide better performance (Graphics related?) both on a bootcamp partition and running under VM Fusion.
     
  20. Eric S. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #20
    At least half of the time that I single-click it registers as a double-click. :(

    I've seen one BSOD on the new Macbook, but the screen disappeared so fast I couldn't read anything of what it said. I was clicking on the trackpad at the time so who knows. I was also connected wireless to a virtual private network, but I 've done that at other times too.

    Other than that, after a week of working with the new MB under Windows I haven't seen any problems, as long as I use a mouse and not the trackpad.
     
  21. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #21
    Okay, thanks...that sounds fairly promising. Could just be terribly written drivers for the trackpad at issue causing crashes too.

    I don't know...generally I love Nvidia, but I had no luck with an Nforce 3 board (well...actually that was probably a hardware problem not related to the chipset), and I've heard of data corruption issues with their SATA/IDE drivers.

    Hmm...how about powering down wifi and bluetooth? Does it seem to work? Actually shut down, or just Windows ignoring it...I suppose we couldn't tell without checking for interference or something.
     
  22. Eric S. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Eric S.

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, California
    #22
    As for wifi, I can enable/disable it without any problems, but I can't say if it actually shuts off. I never use Bluetooth for anything, either on MacOS or Windows, so I can't say. (I have a Mighty Mouse but it quit working months ago and I've never figured out why.)

    BTW, this is using XP not Vista, if you care. I have no experience with Vista.
     
  23. yatman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    #23
    Vista working fine

    I have windows vista ultimate 64 running just fine on my new macbook. The only issue I have is with the trackpad and the one button deal.

    I solved the right-click problem by installing a program called auto-hot-key and reprogrammed the right command button to act as a right-click.
     
  24. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #24
    I am using BootCamp and it works fine except that I'm unable to set the Windows partition as the boot device using /usr/sbin/bless. With my other Macs it has worked fine, but they changed something (firmware?) with the MacBook Air and the new unibody MB/MBP.

    Code:
    sudo bless --legacy --setBoot --nextonly --verbose --device /dev/disk0s3
    It no longer works, even though Terminal doesn't display any errors. Not sure why. Doesn't help with the --folder option.

    Any one able to get this working?
     
  25. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #25
    or you can use two fingers + click.
     

Share This Page