Anyone still using 10.3?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TantalizedMind, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. TantalizedMind macrumors 6502a

    TantalizedMind

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys. I'm running 10.3.9 and can't wait for Leopard. I want to know if anyone is still using 10.3 besides me?

    I use my PowerMac G5 daily. For web surfing and music. And some sites just don't load. (ex. Myspace). Do you think it's due to 10.3 or something else?

    I don't want to upgrade to 10.5 if it's not going to make it run better. I'd rather buy a new Mac than upgrade the OS on the G5 if the overall application performance won't change.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. seattle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    One of the guys at work is running 10.3.9 as his primary OS. I use 10.4.10 on my main computer and 10.3.9 on my "spare".
     
  4. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    I use 10.3.9 on one of my three computers. the sitesw that don't load are probably because of your browser if you are using Safari update to somthing newer than the version of Safari for 10.3.x.
     
  5. droo94 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #5
    Yes. After reading the reviews of Tiger I just didn't feel it was worth the time and expense of upgrading. However, after I bought my PB with Panther, I later bought a Mac mini and an iMac for the family (both with Tiger) so now I've pre-ordered the Leopard family pack from Amazon.

    I'm not sure if web browsing issues would be related to 10.3. The OP didn't specify which web browser, but I've been having a lot of browser crashes with Firefox lately -- Safari has been OK though. One issue I'm finding is that if you download a lot of free software, I've noticed for a while that quite a few of the downloads have been for Tiger only. So I guess it is possible that some browser plug-ins may not behave well in Panther.
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    im running 10.3.9 on my old graphite imac mainly because it doesnt have the space on the HDD to be able to install 10.4, and im too lazy to buy another HDD. its still really really stable tho , it has been on for about the last month at least without a restart.
     
  7. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #7
    I run 10.3, 10.4, 10.5 on my G5. Mainly 4 and 5 to test/develop, and 3 is slowly never being used again. It just lacks a bunch of stuff.
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    yea u always need stuff.. like widgets and the like :(
     
  9. John Jacob macrumors 6502a

    John Jacob

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    #9
    Yeah, same here. But I'm buying Leopard for sure (especially now that a lot of the latest software requires Tiger or higher just to run). Just not sure how to go about it - buy the Leopard boxed CD set and wait for an Apple ultra-portable as a replacement for my PB12, or buy a Macbook Pro with Leopard pre-installed and stuff the ultraportable idea. :confused:
     
  10. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #10
    I'm still using Panther on an old B&W G3 I still have in service. I've run Tiger on it before, but it was much too slow. Panther runs much nicer within the 512MB that machine can handle.
     
  11. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #11
    My parents were still using 10.3 on a 500 MHz iMac G3 until last week when they bought a 24" iMac. I switched them to my old iMac in February, and at that time, it had 10.0.3 on it, but I didn't feel comfortable giving them a Mac still running Mac OS 10.0.
     
  12. I'm a ROb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    I'm still using 10.3 on my iBook and untill last week I was completely fine with that. Then my new iMac with 10.4 arrived. Now I see what I've been missing...
     
  13. Caezar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Between a rock and a hard place
    #13
    I am still using Panther on my Powerbook. I can't wait for Leopard release, as I just realized that the latest version of iLife and iWork (08) that I bought last week-end are not compatible with Panther.
     
  14. Mydel macrumors 6502a

    Mydel

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    Sometimes here mostly there
    #14
    yes Im still running 10.3.9 on my iMac G4 700MHz. Its slow as it is and I cant imagine running 10.5 on it. But that computer is for mail/office only so not a big deal
     
  15. aeaglex07 macrumors 6502

    aeaglex07

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    Daily!

    I run Panther on my Clamshell and Tiger on my g4 iMac. But i use the ibook more than the imac (funny?):p
     
  16. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #16
    I run 10.3.9 on my old 333Mhz G3 Powerbook with 192MBs of RAM. Shame that is all I will be able to take down to University with me, the Mac Pro is just too large :(.
     

Share This Page