Anyone still using a Macbook Pro Intel Core Duo (Yonah) ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by alebar14, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. alebar14 macrumors regular

    alebar14

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Auckland CBD, New Zealand
    #1
    Anyone are still using a Macbook Pro Intel Core Duo (Yonah) version ? What makes you guys keeping this baby while there are new Macbook Pro SR. Isn't it the right time to replace your 32 bit OS core onto 64 bit OS core for Leopard ?

    Let's see what's in your opinion....
     
  2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #2
    1. its fast enough
    2. it will run Leopard fine
    3. i can't afford/don't want to sell it to buy a new one

    It's not like its an old computer.
     
  3. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #3
    ehm....Theres nothing wrong with them now is there?
     
  4. Nar1117 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #4
    There is plenty of overhead in the Yonah chips to run Leopard just fine. There is no reason to upgrade to SR just for a new OS. Its no vista.
     
  5. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #5
    lol?

    I'm still using my 1,67 ghz POWERBOOK G4 with its 1280x854 res screen!

    And there are plenty of mac laptop users with machines much older than mine.

    One doesn't need to have the latest and greatest of everything you know.
     
  6. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #6
    I think the only reason you would need a 2.2 or 2.4 MBP would be if you are filty rich and can afford it, or you need the extra horsepower for serious photo, video editing or something like that. I have a 2.0ghz MBP, runs everything I need super fast, and I'm a photographer so I use Aperture and photoshop and it does it all just fine ;)
     
  7. j/k/Andy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #7
    Agreed, I use a 667mhz G4 PowerBook with 1152 x768 screen, but most of the time with an external 20" at 1680x1050, to run my 'old' CS apps!
     
  8. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #8
    My dad is running the original MBP and he's perfectly fine with it. I see no reason why he would upgrade considering he doesn't need the graphics card in it, plus he's still got a very fast processor. Don't forget it's still 5x faster than the G4s, and people still use G4s all over the place here.
     
  9. msharp macrumors regular

    msharp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    #9
    Yup, me too, Powerbook G4 1.67. Not bad.

    For Yonah, I don't think it's necessary to upgrade --- it won't be a great difference.

    P.S. But for powerbook g4, I've ordered a new mbp last week.
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Doesn't even Vista run quite snappily on Yonah? Perhaps not on the single core Intel chips, but... Core Duo is really not that much slower than C2D.
     
  11. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    I have vista ultimate on my 1.83 CD macbook, runs fine. Gets good scores in vista experience (well at least from the computer).
     
  12. Luis macrumors 65816

    Luis

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    #12
    Still use mine and runs perfectly, no need really to change it. And I can almost assure you than Leopard will run better on it than Tiger.

    Very trusty companion.
     
  13. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    I've had mine since they were released (I've got one from about the first batch into the UK). The new ones are a bit faster, but not really all that much faster. I'll upgrade when the new ones are 2x or 3x faster than my current ones. Or perhaps have higher resolution screens.

    Basically this machine still does everything I need at almost acceptable speeds (acceptable would be everything being instant)...
     
  14. saxman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #14
    I'm still happy with my 1.33 12" powerbook. Works for me
     
  15. -::ubermann::- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #15
    I have the very basic macbook, not going to replace it in a while, it's still faster than a dual G5 powermac
     

Share This Page