anyone switched from blackberry to iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by 49erPress, Nov 14, 2007.

1. 49erPress macrumors newbie

has anyone switched from a blackberry to an iphone? i have a 3g ipod that is dying on me and i want one that plays video. my blackberry is two years old and is worse for wear. but, i am pretty dependent on email at my job and i'm worried that without push mail it will be a waste of money.

as for background, first, i'm a noob. second, we use the google email client. so my email address is "@work.com" instead of "@gmail.com" but it all is routed through google. my email downloads to outlook and my blackberry. it is currently setup as "imap." does anyone have any experience with this? does it download your email every time you check it or every 15 minutes? if you're a business person, can it replace a blackberry?

thanks for the help.

2. rachan macrumors newbie

Yes i've made the switch from Blackberry (albeit BIS as opposed to BES) and am very happy. Having been accustomed to a Blackberry BIS service, the 15 min 'pull' hasn't been an issue for me at all. Also, the calendar function is fine for me me in terms of a BIS service not really synchronising with Exchange anyway - I'm using an imap NHS mail account

The whole user experience for me has been great and I've been using a BB Curve.

Pete

3. gkarris macrumors 604

gkarris

A friend of mine, after looking at my iPhone, is going to.

Then, for you, the iPhone is a waste of money.

My friend is giving up his "push mail". He'd rather have a phone with essentially an 8Gig iPod Touch than "push mail". As others in this forum have stated, "the mail can wait".

You can easily set up imap in an iPhone, then use polling instead of push mail. You can set the polling interval.

I've been to business seminars, and overheard business people say that iPhones suck and they will never give up their Blackberry/Windows Mobile...

The iPhone is the "Smartphone" for the rest of us...