Anyone tested Yosemite on a mid 2010 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Jardins de Vin, Sep 20, 2014.

  1. Jardins de Vin macrumors 6502a

    Jardins de Vin

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    I can't seem to have found anyone who has tested it.

    My Mac Pro is a 12 core 2,93 GHz from 2011, which means it's a mid 2010 model. I'd like to know how Yosemite performs on it.

    I'll be using it for Logic Pro X, I hope it has good performance!
     
  2. omgipown macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    #2
    The 12 core Mac Pro is still insanely powerful. You should be fine, it works perfectly on my Macbook Pro retina, and it has 1/3 of the power.
     
  3. Jardins de Vin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jardins de Vin

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    Is it only a matter of power? I thought apple may not make it work on older devices so people upgrade to newer Macs maybe.
     
  4. UncleSchnitty macrumors 6502a

    UncleSchnitty

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #4
    I have the 08 Mac Pro and it runs it well even with it being on an external drive for now. The Mac Pros are like someone else said insanely powerful. That said I would recommend updating the wifi/BT cards to the newer wifi ac/bt4.0 le card so that you can take full advantage of yosemite.
     
  5. Jardins de Vin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jardins de Vin

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    To be honest I'm not a fan of Wifi and Bluetooth for health reasons, I had a wireless keyboard and wireless mouse, now I have the wired keyboard and the wired mouse. Also I'll be getting a cable for the Mac instead of the wifi. But the Mac is primarily used for work anyway.

    But out of curiosity, which advantages for Yosemite? Do you mean in combination with iOS 8?
     
  6. ibarnett macrumors regular

    ibarnett

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #6
    Google is your friend :)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OS_X_Yosemite

    But yes, runs fine on my 2010 Mac Pro.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. AkuskaUK macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #7
    Im running it on a 2010 2.4Ghz 8Core Mac Pro, runs beautifully!
     
  8. Alterior101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #8
    Hi Folks,

    Upgraded my machine last night from Mavericks. It rebooted to a blank screen. I tried to boot off an external disk...no luck. Too late at night for me. Forced quit and went to sleep. Booted it up this morning and again to a blank screen. Currently have a machine on and the screen off. Will come back to it later in the day.

    Alt Out!
     
  9. Alterior101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #9
    Hi Folks,

    Checked my classic Mac Pro again. Still has a blank screen. I don't have another machine unfortunately. Not sure what to do. Sounds like this behaviour is not normal. I've looked on the Sonnettech site (on my iPad) for any compatibility issues with Yosemite and the Tempo SSD Pro pice card. No information found.

    Alt Out!
     
  10. Jardins de Vin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jardins de Vin

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    Hmm that's weird. I'll be installing Yosemite soon as well, I'm curious to see if I'll have similar problems.
     
  11. Alterior101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #11
    Hi Folks,

    well that was a mission!

    01. Shut down my Mac Pro
    02. Removed the Sonnet Tempo Pro SSD Card with Raid 0, 0.48TB Boot Drive
    03. Removed All 4 2TB HDs from their Drive Bays (Raid 0, 8TB Storage)
    04. Inserted original Apple shipping drive in Drive Bay #1
    05. Reboot (MAC OS 10.6.5)
    06. Boot external Caldigit CR 2TB Raid 0 drive
    07. Download and install Yosemite on External Drive (Firewire 800)
    08. Reboot from external Caldigit CR Drive - did not recognise.
    09. Reboot from original Apple Hard Drive (7200rpm) - lengthy process.
    10. Install Yosemite on original Apple Hard Drive (7200rpm)
    11. Reboot. All good.
    12. Reinstall the Sonnet Tempo Pro SSD Card with Raid 0, 0.48TB.
    13. Reboot from original Apple Hard Drive (7200rpm) - lengthy process.
    14. Install Yosemite to Sonnet Tempo Pro SSD Card with Raid 0, 0.48TB SSD
    15. Reboot from original Apple Hard Drive (7200rpm) - lengthy process.
    16. Select startup drive in system preferences to 0.48TB Boot Drive
    17. Reboot - All good.
    18. Shut Mac Pro down.
    19. Remove original Apple Hard Drive (7200rpm)
    20 Insert all 4 2TB HDs from their Drive Bays (Raid 0, 8TB Storage)
    21. Reboot - all good.
    22. Install Yosemite on (Raid 0, 8TB Storage)
    23. Reboot - all good.
    24. Select startup drive in system preferences to 8TB Storage Drive
    25. Reboot - all good.
    26. Select startup drive in system preferences to 0.48TB Boot Drive
    27. Reboot - all good.

    Great....now where was I before my 1st attempt to install Yosemite? lol

    Alt Out!
    _______
     
  12. anthonymazzeri macrumors newbie

    anthonymazzeri

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #12
    Everything works fine on my 2009 8-core Nehalem except for one thing.

    It appears to have killed my 30" ACD display as far as iTunes' DRM is concerned so all my purchased TV shows and movies which I could watch on it perfectly yesterday suddenly won't play any more on it today - it just gives me the black video screen of DRM death now like on my other two non-DRM screens. Might be the Radeon HD 7950 card, so I'm putting it down to a v1.0 bug which they'll hopefully address.
     

Share This Page