Anyone think closing apps in Multi Tasking bar will be a problem?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by tnisatard, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. tnisatard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #1
    I dont have OS 4 yet but after watching videos and etc, it seems has no one has touched on closing apps

    anyone think apple needs to fix this?

    such as if you open 5-10 apps (or whatever the limit allows you to)

    then you want to close all of them, you have to tap/hold every single one in order to close them one by one

    can anyone with OS 4 shed some light on this? thanks in advance

    and is closing an app and not run it in the background like what we are currently doing now gone?

    you have to close the app then close it in the multitasking bar?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
  3. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #3
    I currently have 28 in my task switcher pane... I wish there is some easy close-all feature I don't know about.
     
  4. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #4
    Do they sort alphabetically? That could be a problem.

    Or do the most recently used ones show up first? If it's like that then I don't know if it's too much of a problem.
     
  5. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #5
    It's most recently used. Think of it as Alt/Cmd + Tab for the iPhone.
     
  6. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #6
    it's pretty annoying since i dont want all my apps there. i wish it was like hold down the home to start back rounding instead of them all doing it :(
     
  7. Pared macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #7
    It's possible that they are all doing it because the developers haven't updated their programs yet.
     
  8. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #8

    ?? You have to actively double click your home button to get them there. All of your apps won't end up there unless you put them there.
     
  9. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #9
    Cool. Then I don't care how long the list gets. If old stuff gets pushed down the line it doesn't bother me.
     
  10. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #10
    Minusing apps from the switcher is the only way to close them now. It could very well be that the only reason it's implimented at all (since it isn't necessary) is so people can close apps that are frozen or freaking out in some way, without having to reboot the phone. I had to kill a few apps today because of various bugs and I was glad for the ability to, but other than that I didn't think to close any since all I could see in the switcher without swiping to the left were the last four apps I used.

    Multitasking only works in a few apps now (YouTube, Settings, Photos, the usual others) so it's hard to say whether performance will truly be maintained with apps in the background, but by design, what's not on-screen isn't meant to concern the user.

    It could be a real problem for OCD types, but it isn't a practical concern by design. The switcher has to be evoked to be seen and then only four apps are visible. It's not meant to matter how many other apps are there, unless, of course, you want it to.

    Last night, I had 60-something apps in the switcher. It didn't bother me. I did have stupid fun minusing them all when I ran out of internet to read at lunch though.

    BTW, if you think it's bad that they don't ever close, you're not going to like the fact that all of the apps listed in the switcher when you shutdown the phone are "relaunched" at boot. Right now this causes noticable lag to the rest of the OS at boot. It's only Beta 1 though, and it's not that much lag. More like stutter.
     
  11. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #11
    Won't that affect battery life? I didn't understand if the apps take up VERY LITTLE battery life, while in the frozen state, as opposed to NO battery life.
     
  12. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #12
    If the apps take up battery life it because they're doing something you want them to do. If you don't want the Latitude app updating your location then set it not to or uninstall it.
     
  13. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #13
    No, that's the whole point of the services.

    Lets say I start playing Pandora music in the background. Pandora itself is closed, but it's using the music API to play my music.

    At some point I go into Pandora and turn off the music. Now the Music API is no longer using battery and, as before, Pandora is still closed.

    It'll continue to show up in the 'quick switch' window (or whatever it's called) but at that point it's no different than a "recently used" list. The app itself is closed. Removing it from the list does nothing other than clear up space on the list.
     
  14. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #14
    So, having a game in the background or not having run it at all takes up the same CPU cycles (=none)? You will obviously have less RAM available, but that isn't as much of a problem.

    Thanks for the explanation. Got a little mixed up.
     
  15. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #15
    Did you even use the OS 4.0 yet? Because what you just explained makes no sense and is not how it works at all.
     
  16. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #16
    When I double home to bring up running apps, I can hold down icon the the app shows a X to close it just like removing it from the home screen. Seems to be them same as command-Q on the Mac.
     
  17. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #17
    It's either none or very little. Either way is not meant to be noticable on a 3GS or the newer hardware. It might be significant enough though to be noticable on the 2G and 3G, but we'll never know.
     
  18. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #18
    You double click to activate multi-tasking, and your recently used apps are visible in that list. They get added by the action of multitasking with them, and not by you purposely adding them there.
     
  19. Jimmie Geddes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #19
    I was using AIM today, double clicked home AIM was in the apps currently running but when I go back to it AIM has to reconnect, it loses it's connection. I understand it's the first beta, and I haven't noticed an effect on battery life with the amount of apps running in the background. It does feel a little awkward with Apple's implementation of multitasking. ProSwitcher on Jailbroken iPhones feels more natural in my opinion.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMAVyaNQdnw
     
  20. NorrisKillsKids macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #20
    If it's most used then it sounds perfect to me. Don't care how big it gets as long as the programs I need are close.

    Also I may be off, but for instant messaging apps, don't the developers have to update their apps using the new background api or something? Which explains why you have to reconnect?
     
  21. blancoBronco macrumors 6502a

    blancoBronco

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    South Tampa
    #21
    I read somewhere how to before but I don't feel like looking for it. how do u remove apps from the multitasking bar?
     
  22. RichL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #22
    Sigh. AIM is not coded to work with multitasking. No apps are except standard Apple apps.

    Nothing you open will be multitasking. NOTHING! (beside apple apps)
     
  23. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #23
    ALL of these "multitasking" features are not things the OS does to the app.

    Rather, they are things that the apps can take advantage of.

    Since AIM has not been updated to work with 4.0 yet, you'll see no change. Multitasking on the iPhone is pretty much useless now until the developers start putting out new versions of their programs. That's why they get the 4.0 beta so much sooner than everyone else.
     
  24. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #24
    To elaborate on this -- when you're streaming a song and you background the app the system does the work of providing the sound etc. and freezes the app. When the song ends, the system wakes the app and asks it for another song. The app provides the next song and gets frozen again. That's all the streaming app itself will do in the background, and nothing else, and it's not an intensive process other than the obvious hit of downloading a few MBs on 3G.
     
  25. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #25
    See my post a few messages above.
     

Share This Page