Anyone try 2gb SODIMMs in a Mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by squirrelman, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. squirrelman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #1
    I know they aren't very common and a bit expensive but has anyone tried to use 2gb SO-DIMMs in the Mac Mini? I know it says the limit is 2x1GB but I'd love to have 4gb of RAM so I am hoping it will work with 2x2gb.
     
  2. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Beeeep.. Wrong answer. If'n you don't know, please don't reply with inaccurate or ambiguous information.

    No CoreDuo Mac can support a 2 Gb DIMM, it has been tried. A 667 MHz 2 Gb SODIMM crashes the machine immediately. A 2 Gb 533 MHz SODIMM can be persuaded to boot, but if you install any size SODIMM in the second socket, it crashes. Only Core2Duo iMacs and MacBook Pros can support a 2 Gb SODIMM
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    is that a software limitation? i could have sworn reading a 32 bit chip could address up to 4 gigs of ram. or maybe im way off
     
  5. furious macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    I believe it is a chip-set limitation. The logic board apple was supplied with is unable to address more RAM. Could be to do with bandwidth I am not sure.
     
  6. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    It is a limitation of Intel's Core Duo chipset or architecture. Apple can't do anything about it and all Core Duo machines have the same problem.
     
  7. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #7
    Funny, doesn't the Core Duo and Core 2 Duo use the exact same chipset?
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    4Gb total. But you need some of the memory space for memory mapped peripherals so most OS manufacturers split it 3Gb for user RAM, 1Gb for kernel/peripherals. The chipset in a Mac Mini is further limited and supports less.
     
  9. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    Honestly, what I know I got off of these forums. However, it is my understanding that it is a limit of Core Duo and that Core 2 Duo can handle more, at 3Gb.
     
  10. MacBass macrumors 6502

    MacBass

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    #10
    The mini will only see 2 GB maximum. Apple has stated this. So if you like wasting money, try it, it'll be fun!
     
  11. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #11
    Apple often understates the maximum amount supported because at the time, whatever x capacity memory modules weren't available or some other similar reason.

    Depending on the chipset etc. the true maximum capacity can be determined.
     
  12. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #12
    well that sucks. it would be nice to have the ability to have 3gigs. any reason why they would limit it?
     
  13. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #13
    No

    Buuuutttt --- in this case the true maximum capacity of the CoreDuo Macs is 2 Gb, full stop. It is not a marketing/unavailable/whatever reason.

    Apple has underestimated the capacity on: eMac USB 2.0, iMac G4, the iMac G3 slot-loads (quasi-wrong - the spec did say correctly 2 sockets and max RAM module 512 Mb, but the total was reported as 512 Mb max.) and the first release of the Powerbook G4 12". That's it.
     
  14. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #14
    Instead of a one word answer why not share some of that wisdom with us and tell me what it is we are having now between the Napa chipset that we used to, and are still using; and the Crestline chipset that we are expecting with Santa Rosa?
     
  15. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #15
    I never said that wasn't the case :)

    I was just saying, Apple's maximum RAM amounts weren't always the true maximums.
     
  16. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #16
    Has ANYONE actually tried to put a 2gb module into an UPGRADED mac mini with core 2 duo processor? I see alot of "no you can't do it" but this is from people who have not tried it. Surely someone has tried this?
     
  17. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #17
    Apple probably crippled it so it is that way.
     
  18. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
  19. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #19
    Yes, if its a Core 2 Duo MacBook. Over at 123MacMini there is a thread where people have upgraded CD minis to C2D and have had NO luck with 2GB sodimms. The consensus seams to be that it is a firmware limitation since the newer C2Ds made by Apple can take them. We will have to wait until someone upgrades their firmware to see if that will change things.
     
  20. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #20
    The Core2Duo Minis can take 3 Gb (OWC has posted results) because they use a hardware memory controller which can recognize 3 Gb (actually, 3,3 Gb if you were to install 2 x 2 Gb SODIMMs) -- just like the Core2Duo MacBooks.

    CoreDuo Minis can only recognize 2 x 1 Gb SODIMMs.
    CoreDuo Minis that have been upgraded with Core2 CPUs still can only recognize 2 x 1 Gb SODIMMs, because they have the same old hardware memory controller as they were born with. It's not up to the CPU. AMD puts the memory controller on the CPU -- Intel doesn't.

    Its a hardware limitation of the motherboard. Firmware won't fix it. Apple didn't cripple it artificially - it's inherent in the Intel chipset.
     
  21. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #21
    That's a shame. Oh, well. I hope the boys over at 123 don't unnecessarily go upgrading their firmware.
     
  22. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #22
    Good explanation. That should be a sticky.
     

Share This Page