Anyone trying to get iOS 6 on iPad 1?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by PracticalMac, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. PracticalMac macrumors 68030

    PracticalMac

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    Curious to hear how it goes when someone is able to install it. Take a bit of hacking magic for sure.
     
  2. Redjericho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #3
    The OS would probably take more RAM than the first iPad even has.
     
  3. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #4
    The 3GS has half the ram of the iPad 1 and it gets iOS 6
     
  4. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #5
    It will probably never happen. Not with the necessity for devices to be activated by Apple's servers.
     
  5. mopatops macrumors regular

    mopatops

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    That's true but it's also pushing a fraction of the pixels.
     
  6. amorya macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #7
    Actually the 3GS and the iPad 1 both have 256 MB RAM.
     
  7. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    1) It isn't true. Don't just blindly agree with people

    2) RAM is insignificant in handling no. of pixels
     
  8. ZacNicholson macrumors 6502a

    ZacNicholson

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Location:
    Indiana
    #9
    just wait for whited00r to make iOS 6 skin for ios 5.
     
  9. Redjericho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #10
    Incorrect. When apps are frozen in the background, each pixel is held in RAM to allow for quick switching. Which explains why the iPad 3, which has roughly 4million pixels, requires 1gb of RAM. While the iPad 2, which has a little over a million, runs smooth as silk on 512mb.
     
  10. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I was too vague, but I was talking about the ability to push a number of pixels at any instant in a program, which is affected mostly by the GPU's speed. Of course, higher resolution applications have more data to store and therefore are going to require more RAM to deliver similar performance.
     
  11. tonyr6 macrumors 65816

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #12
    Well iOS 5.1.1 runs on my iPod Touch 4th Generation but the speed sucks though. iOS 6 will support the iPod Touch 4th Generation which is based on the same crappy amount of RAM as the iPad 1st Generation but with twice the pixels of the iPhone 3GS.

    I am afraid to update though knowing that it might show down the iPod Touch even more. Thank you NOT Apple for only caring about the iPhone and new iPad for getting new products..:mad:
     

Share This Page