Anyone upgrade to macOS Mojave using the Sapphire Pulse RX580 Video Card ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Anto38x, Sep 28, 2018.

  1. Anto38x, Sep 28, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2018

    Anto38x macrumors regular

    Anto38x

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #1
    Hi all....

    Anyone upgrade to macOS Mojave using the Sapphire Pulse RX580 Video Card ?

    I have my Sapphire Pulse RX580 Video card being shipped to me currently... I should have it next week and all my key workflow apps are having no technical issues with this new OS update... so as soon as my card arrives I would like to upgrade.... but I want to be sure before I do take that leap of faith that I won't have any critical issues with the Sapphire Pulse RX580 Video Card.

    I read on one or two Facebook group articles of a few users having laggy UI issues with the RX580... but no specific version of the card was quoted.

    On the official Apple website, they list the Sapphire Pulse RX580 Video Card as what they recommend to be fully compatible with macOS Mojave.

    So any issues or comments would be greatly appreciated.


    Regards,
    Anthony
     
  2. Matty_TypeR macrumors regular

    Matty_TypeR

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #2
    You will have no problem the RX580 pulse card, OSX Mojave installs no problem, you will be missing boot screens though. do remember you will need a dual 6 pin mini to single 8 pin for the power requirements of the card.
     
  3. Anto38x thread starter macrumors regular

    Anto38x

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #3
    Thank you Matty_TypeR... I have that cable ordered... just waiting for it to arrive. Thanks for confirming all will be OK. I'm going to try the new card with macOS High Sierra (10.13.6) first to see how it goes before upgrading to macOS Mojave, but sounds like you are very confident, maybe from personal experience, that there will be no glitchy issues..?

    Thanks again for your feedback and advice. Very much appreciated.
     
  4. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    iv been using the Sapphire Pulse RX580 for about a week so far (and just upgraded to osx10.13 from 10.12), so far no problems.

    so far from light use
    davinci resolve is working fine so far, much faster than my gtx770
    lightroom cs6 works
    adobe bridge cs6 & ACR works

    hand no problems yet that i know of.
    FC7 wont work in osx10.13 but thats apple not the GPU, i like to keep it working for old projects so sad to see it stop working (may keep a osx10.12 install handy for luck).

    so far i relay have had no problems with the card.

    if there's anything you want me to test i can (if it wont take long & i have the software)
     
  5. Anto38x thread starter macrumors regular

    Anto38x

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #5
    Orph... as usual... you are so helpful.

    I'm just double checking that all will be OK... now that macOS Mojave is out in the wild... wanted to see how people were getting on... all sounds very positive.

    Can I ask you.... will I experience a nice performance bump in just overall speed of use of my computer when I get the new Sapphire Pulse RX580 Graphics Card compared to the existing stock card that I have been using for 8 years now that came with my MacPro 12 Core (ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024 MB) ? Will it impact on my workflow you reckon...?

    I have 64GB of RAM (upgraded from the original 16GB) and the 520GB SSD that came originally with the computer... so I see this as about the only real part left to upgrade for some extra "Umph" in the overall performance experience.
     
  6. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    it will be faster, the HD 5870 is much older.
    how fast depends on if you do anything that uses the gpu, any app that will use the gpu will be much faster
    so photoshop may be a tuch faster (not used it since CS6 so i may be outdated but last time i relay used it CPU speed was king)
    davinci resolve is massively GPU dependent and it seems to be a lot lot faster for me editing 4K video H264 with light grades and timeline (also having 8GB vram helps a lot for resolve)

    so FCX,resolve (most video editing apps) will be faster

    o as a plus the fans hardly kick in most the time, my gtx 770 was quiet but this is even better
     
  7. Anto38x thread starter macrumors regular

    Anto38x

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #7
    Sounds like this upgrade could definitely give me a little performance bump until the real bump arrives in 2019 with the new MODULAR MacPro 2019... :)

    Thanks again Orph... :)
     
  8. orph, Sep 28, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2018

    orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    what software do you use, or kind of workflow?

    here's some screen shots for fun ^^
    RX580 8gb
    Screen Shot 2018-09-24 at 11.36.40 pm.png
    Screen Shot 2018-09-24 at 10.57.30 pm.png
    Screen Shot 2018-09-24 at 11.03.21 pm.png
    (edit i did the bios mod which gave a big speed up in luxmark)
    GTX 770 4gb
    Screen Shot 2018-09-22 at 7.29.59 pm.png
    in luxmark (an opencl test) the rx580 is more than 3 times as fast as the gtx 770
     
  9. Anto38x thread starter macrumors regular

    Anto38x

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #9
    I'm an old skool graphic guys... so I use as my primary software for nearly all projects the following apps:-
    – QuarkXpress 2018
    – Adobe Photoshop CC (Creative Cloud Subscription)
    – Adobe Illustrator CC (Creative Cloud Subscription)
    – Adobe Acrobat Pro DC (Creative Cloud Subscription)
    – Adobe Lightroom CC (Creative Cloud Subscription)
    – Microsoft PowerPoint (Office 365 Subscription)
    – Microsoft Word (Office 365 Subscription)
    – FCPX (Family Home Movies, but my daughter does like to edit using Adobe After Effects. Currently, she's using my MacBook Pro with Touchbar maxed out 2017 model... so I need to keep her in mind with any future purchases)

    That's about it really. I do design large format signage and display posters.... and files in Photoshop can get over the 1GB mark... so that's about as heavy as I go... :)

    Hope that helps give you a feel for what I do... :)
     
  10. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    id gess
    FCPX will get potential of a massive speed up

    not shore about the rest, tempted to say word will be the same :p
     
  11. Anto38x thread starter macrumors regular

    Anto38x

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #11
    Cheers Orph....

    I'd be happy if Photoshop and Adobe illustrator refreshed on screen a little faster.. :)

    This is the cable I'm waiting on to power the new Graphics Card:-

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07GSXV3XV/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    I also had to get this so that my Apple 27" LED Cinema Display with MiniDV port could connect to the new Display Port of the RX580.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0055PKO3I/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Thanks again.... and have a great weekend.
     
  12. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    the dual mini 6 pin to 8 pin looks good

    the DV cable looks wrong maybe ?
     
  13. Anto38x thread starter macrumors regular

    Anto38x

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #13
    Ooohhh CRAP!!! The connection from my Apple 27" LED Cinema Display is a mini DV port.... I thought this would allow me to insert that into the mini DV port adaptor section and then the other side was the display port side for the RX580.... would you know which one I should get..?
     
  14. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    dont you have
    display -> male mini DP out
    you need a mini DP female to DP male i think
    as your gpu will have normal DP ports (female)
    --- Post Merged, Sep 28, 2018 ---
    maybe this https://www.amazon.co.uk/StarTech-c..._rd_t=40701&psc=1&refRID=3WBXS7ED6NW0WVQRBQH3
    it was on the amazon recommended on the page you provided

    ah there's lots of them
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias=electronics&field-keywords=isplayPort+to+Mini+DisplayPort+Video+Cable+Adapter+-+M/F

    this one has a nice small end https://www.amazon.co.uk/DisplayPor...to+mini+displayport+video+cable+adapter+-+m/f
     
  15. Anto38x thread starter macrumors regular

    Anto38x

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #15
    Ooooopsss... I made an error.... actually I bought that cable and noticed it was wrong and then bought this one:-

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B075W7T15B/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    The same as you just recommended... sorry about that... but sounds like I have all I need as soon as the card arrives to GO FOR IT.... does it take a lot of time to install ? is it very difficult... I found a few YouTube vids... make it look easy peasy.. :)
     
  16. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    it's fine, you have to have the two 6pins plugged in to the 8 pin (dont try with just one, it's happened before lots of times)
    dont forget the pull tab thing on the fan in the PCI bay to movie the metal bar back before you pull the old card out and to push it back once the new one is in.

    it can be a bit fiddly getting the small 6 pins in so take your time, can be easier with the computer on it's side (and safer).
     
  17. NC_Bulldog, Sep 29, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2018

    NC_Bulldog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    #17
    I recently installed the RX580. Was an easy swap with the correct power connector. But not having video on boot is a real pain! Can't encrypt boot disc and can't access the recovery partition. There are apparently technical work-arounds available which I haven't had the nerve to try. Since Apple suggests this card for Mojave I wish they would give us the boot screen.
     
  18. OneyedK macrumors member

    OneyedK

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Location:
    Mechelen, Belgium
    #18
    Nope, sorry, tried and tested. The RX580 doesn't work wonders for photoshop or illustrator. Guess those apps are cpu bound (even maybe single core performance)

    A word of warning, if your RX580 doesn't have the correct product number (one of the two blessed by Apple), the incorrect framebuffer will be loaded, rendering the DP and HDMI outputs unusable :( DVI works properly...

    Solution can be found here: https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...x580-pulse-into-the-mac-edition-card.2101909/
     
  19. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    CS6 is where my adobe knowledge ends, at that point only PP/AE/speed grade relay used the GPU much (some times GPU acceleration was best to be disabled in apps like PS).

    speed grade was the only app to scale with GPU power well (that i used)
    PP/AE had relay mixed results depending on workflow and where mostly CPU limited for me (depends on a lot of things like codec/effects etc) with rule the thumb 1080p needs 2GBvram, 4K needs 4GBvram.

    in CS6 most the apps that worked with still images where mostly limited to 2 CPU cores and that was the main speed problem (once you had all the ram you needed etc) maybe if you had to little VRAM you may have had a problem there.
    exceptions of better scaling with cpu cores where some effects and exporting with batch options.

    also iv been on a GTX770 with 4GB of vram since (2013?) so i relay cant remember what it was like on cards with only 1-2GB vram.

    thats mostly from memory and i dont know how its changed, i mostly did h264 video (or proxy's) and spent most my time color grading slight audio editing and animation work as well as lots of still RAW conversions mostly in bridge/ACR at the time.

    now i mainly use resolve for video work (the GTX770 4GB was much much slower than the RX 580)
    CS6 light room, (CS6 or CC) bridge/ACR for stills (i dont use Photoshop now, not needed it in ages) and seen no noticeable speed changes there over the last few days.

    for the best info on how computer parts effect the speed of applications look at
    https://www.pugetsystems.com/all_articles.php
    they relay have in depth articles, there for windows but it mostly holds true for the same app on osx.

    at the moment adobe seems to target Intel mainstream parts (id gess 99% of there users) so something like a 8700K with a NVME drive as scratch disc SSD's for OS and 32GBram (or more) with a mid end GPU tends to be all round fastest.
    (low end GPU if no video work)

    in the screen shot i posted you can see resolve relay dose use the GPU a lot, that's exporting a 4K project (graded and some effects/audio work all simple) using h264 to prorez lite using about 800% CPU and looks like 60% GPU (CPU limited id gess) but almost real time 20fps export speed from the screenshot
    iv seen a max of about 6GB vram use in resolve so far with my simple project.

    so yep unless your ruining low on vram using PS i dont think there will be massive gains in speed but i also have no idea if CC uses the GPU more than CS6 did. (ie not much in PS :D)

    also nice plus the GPU fan (for me) spins up once every few mins for 10 secs then turns off & i now have the potential of 10-bit out if i upgrade to 10 bit displays
     

Share This Page

18 September 28, 2018