Anyone upgraded a 2006/07 Mac Pro with new processor?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Supermacguy, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. Supermacguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #1
    I have a 2.66x2 2006/07 Mac Pro. I'm looking at upgrade chips, specifically the E5450 "Harpertown" 3.0ghz chips ("SLANQ" series. There are still some available from suppliers. This has the same pin setup (LGA 771) and seems to be around the right power usage etc.
    I'm looking to see if anyone has done ANY upgrade like this, with either this chip or any other versions. I found one article at Anandtech.com but really would like to hear some other stories.

    TIA, Chris
     
  2. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
  3. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #3
    The E5450 won't work in your Mac Pro regardless of its stepping. To make it an 8-core you need X5355 or X5365 chips.
     
  4. PurpleLogix macrumors member

    PurpleLogix

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  5. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #5
    Forgot to say: Yes, I upgraded mine with X5355s back then, too.
     
  6. quasinormal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    #6
    Could anybody tell me how hot does the 1.1 MP get with 2 x X5355? I ask because I have the 2.00Ghz BTO option 2007 MP and i really like how cool and quiet it is. It can run handbrake with near 100% CPU load 24 hours a day at 53 centigrade and an average of 40 fps.

    I have a couple of X5355s that i picked up a while ago, but am reluctant to install them if it means a big increase in heat and a start to fan noise.
     
  7. cryingrobot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #7
    To the people who upgraded to octo, what kind of geek bench scores are you getting? I have the 2X2.66 dual core and can get it over 6000 once in a while (it seems to vary every time) since adding a SSD boot drive. I have 16gb of ram as well. I have ordered a paid of quad core 2.66 chips and am hoping this will nudge it over 10,000 which should be plenty for the next few years.
     
  8. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #8
    Unfortunately, I don't have my Geekbench results of the octo-configuration anymore, but at stock config (2x2.66 dual) it scored 6236.
    I'm quite sure, however, that the upgrade didn't push it beyond 9000, let alone 10,000...
     
  9. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #9
  10. Supermacguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #10
    Thanks all! I did do a search and found some other posts on the x5365, so if I go for it I'll look for that.
     
  11. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #11
    Check out this one

    Check out those two, my friend..

    http://www.waitingoutside.com/2010/02/mac-pro-upgraded-with-2-intel-xeon-x5355-processors/

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/2079/6


    .. and just in case you are somewhere in Florida or equivalent... you may need this one here after upgrading..

    http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&Product_ID=160

    Good luck, its a fun thing to upgrade the 1,1 MP!

    :)
     
  12. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #12
    Seriously? 59 bucks for a few fans?! There are more affordable ways to get fans to the RAM modules.
     
  13. Mr Ski 73 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #13
    I have upgraded to x5355s and got 9500 on Geekbench.
     
  14. PurpleLogix macrumors member

    PurpleLogix

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    Anyone know how to fix the unknown CPU in Lion? tried the SL way, but not working on Lion.
     
  15. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #15
    Another unable to update from 'Processors Unknown' in Lion.
     
  16. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #16
  17. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #17
    Okay fixed mine thanks greatly to chromafile. Download the DOWNLOAD 1.1 link CPUInjector, open and drag out CPUInjector.file to desktop. Download the KEXT.Utility, double click, and a box like icon appears. Simply drag the CPUInjector file on top and presto it runs and shows


    Processor 2 x 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon



    after reboot.
     

Share This Page