Anyone upgrading your home theater receiver now

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by betabeta, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. betabeta macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    #1
    My old Onkyo didn't have HDMI, and now without optical out, instead of adding an HDMI optical audio extracter, I decided to get a new receiver. Big plus is Netflix would never give me Dolby+ through optical anyway. Got a Denon AVR S510BT, was on sale 229.

    So my 200 Apple upgrade is turned into a 450 upgrade, kinda glad it wasn't 4K, then I would have been "forced" to buy a new TV:D
     
  2. Adeuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #2
    It won't even play with my Onkyo that has HDMI ( and I am not alone) but I'm not going to buy another £450 receiver just to use ATV4 when thr Onkyo works perfectly well with everything else I have including my ATV3.

    I'm returning the ATV4 and I'll wait until the receiver needs updating.....or when it is worth updating to 4K :)
     
  3. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #3
    Nope, works great on my several years old dumpy Pioneer I got off slickdeals.

    Siri Remote IR blaster controls volume on receiver.
    TV button yanks receiver from whatever input its on, over to the AppleTV.

    If I or wife sit down to watch hulu/Netflix, now only need the one remote.

    Just need the ofher remote to go do other things, like ant tuner or steam machine.
     
  4. philipk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #4
    I share your pain.

    I have two homes and two Onkyo receivers. The older one is at our second home. It has always had a problem with my Apple TV 3 and with my ROKU 3. It has to do with the DRM handshaking between the TV and the device. The receiver is in the middle and rarely works right. That is why I bought the newer receiver and moved the older one to the second home. I now use the optical link with the Apple TV3

    My main house has the newer Onkyo and the Apple TV4. All works well.

    I so prefer the newer receiver than I am thinking of buying one for the second house. One with less power and features as I have smaller speakers there. So it is worth the £450 for other features besides just the Apple TV4 if you have the money to spend.

    MAIN POINT
    It is not a flaw with either the Apple TV4 or the older Onkyo receiver. It is a problem caused by DRM handshaking.
     
  5. shaneakus macrumors member

    shaneakus

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville
    #5
    Same problem. I went hdmi in to my tv, then optical out from my tv to receiver. Works fine and passed dd signal. Bought me another year or so.
     
  6. Mackinjosh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    #6
    Nope. Instead of buying a new receiver, I'll just buy a better streaming device.
     
  7. Ethan Coohill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #7
    Acessories4less is the best place to get a new receiver. I've been thinking about upadting for a long time now, especially since my TV has 2 hdmi and a reciever wth 7 of them is perfect
     
  8. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #8
    That concerns me. I've not got my Apple TV yet ( failed delivery and DPD are going to try and re-deliver it ) but I also have an Onkyo receiver which is a few years old now. I'm hoping I have no issues as I can't justify replacing the receiver just for this.
     
  9. philipk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #9
    Are you using an Apple TV3? If so you no problem. I had problems with my ATV3 and my older Onkyo.

    If you are using an ATV2 you should be OK as the DRM should be the same in the 2 and 3 but I can't say for sure.

    Good Luck.
     
  10. digduggler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #10
    Yup. Tried and extractor, didn't like it. Time to upgrade anyway for me. I've been putting it off.
     
  11. Gutwrench macrumors 65816

    Gutwrench

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #11
    Just picked up a 60 in LG, Sonos Playbar, sub, two play 1's, and the ATV4. I'm pretty happy.
     
  12. Marshall73 macrumors 6502a

    Marshall73

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #12
    Are there no firmware updates for the onkyo receivers with HDMI which fix the handshaking issues?
     
  13. Ray2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    #13
    Funny this comes up. Just today I dismantled my receiver, speakers, wiring, etc. The tv audio is good enough.
     
  14. xmichaelp macrumors 68000

    xmichaelp

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #14
    If you plan for 4k than make sure your new receiver has HDMI 2.0 ports with HDCP 2.2
     
  15. mdawid macrumors regular

    mdawid

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #15
    I had thought about it as my receiver is older and doesn't have hdmi. Tried going optical from my tv to my receiver and my ATV3 audio works. Only issue is the sound won't convert to 5.1. So, I either live with the sound limitation, upgrade my receiver or do nothing. For the time being, going to hold out on buying the ATV4 and upgrading my receiver. Maybe around the holidays I'll upgrade everything.
     
  16. seadragon Contributor

    seadragon

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #16
    Yep. Just today, I finally upgraded my receiver to a Yamaha RX-A3050. All the bells and whistles and of course full HDMI switching. My previous receiver was the Yamaha RX-V3200 that I bought about 13 years ago. Its still going strong, but has no HDMI capabilities. The AT4 simply pushed me over the edge to finally upgrade the receiver. The new one is amazing and the AT4 works very well with it.
     
  17. normanfox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #17
    how does the Siri remote know what TV so that it send the right IR command for volume?
     
  18. philipk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #18
    You have to train it with your current TV remote. It is very simple. I trained my Onyko receiver's volume in about 30 seconds!
     
  19. normanfox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #19
    No, I did not train it, and it just works. According to Apple FAQ, to control TV volume the remote automatically (without manually set up) either uses
    1) HDMI CEC
    2) or IR command if TV does not have HDMI CEC

    In my case, it seems to send IR command for volume since it won't work if I block my TV IR receiver. My TV supports HDMI CEC.
     
  20. mjcxp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #20
    Mine works the same way. The HDTV or receiver must send the model number and make via HDMI. Apple must have a database to match the make and model with the appropriate IR command.
     
  21. normanfox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #21
    I was hoping that ATV remote to control TV volume using HDMI-CED instead of IR command so that you don't need to have line of sight or to point remote to the TV.
     
  22. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #22
    I actually don't own and have never before owned any Apple TV's. The Apple TV 4th generation will be my first one. I've really had the need to ads my Mac Mini was connected directly to my TV. Now that it's not and my primary computer is a MacBook Pro I need a device to stream media to my TV. I was going to buy an Apple TV 3rd generation but as there were rumours back then go a new model being released this year I held off. I'm looking forward to the new one but I hope it plays well with my Onkyo receiver and Sony Bravia TV.
     

Share This Page