Anyone use Viper SmartStart?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mikelegacy, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. mikelegacy macrumors 65816

    mikelegacy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    Im thinking of getting it. My garage is in a garage tho underneath my apartment building....i've heard it doesn't work well in places with minimal coverage....the garage does get cell coverage, but I still don't wanna spend $3-400 for something that won't work in my case...

    any comments?
     
  2. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #2
    I'm also think about getting it. My ride takes forever to warm up and would love to be able to start it up from my phone.
     
  3. mikelegacy thread starter macrumors 65816

    mikelegacy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    Oh I know, i dream of the day when everything works/starts from my iphone. Hate getting out of bed early to brew coffee? Boom, ive got an app for that haha.
     
  4. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #4
    I've got it. The vehicle will be using Rogers for coverage. Have you tested Rogers coverage on a cell in your garage? Is it good, or sketchy? The install affects the coverage as things inside the vehicle can affect coverage, and every vehicle is different. But, if you have excellent Rogers coverage with a cell, I likely wouldn't worry.

    You can also add a fob and antenna if you want. That way you could use the fob from inside the house (if the cell coverage isn't good enough) and leave the fob at home when you leave and just use your iPhone when you're out and about.

    I've been in underground parking with mine and it didn't work, but I also didn't have any coverage on my cell in that location.

    If anyone has any questions, feel free to ask.
     
  5. mikelegacy thread starter macrumors 65816

    mikelegacy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #5
    How do I check Rogers coverage on my phone? Is that the *3001#12345#* trick?

    I know it comes with the fob, but im 16 floors up in an apartment building, so that wouldn't work. Not that it's a complete deal breaker but it would suck majorly if It wouldn't work at the place I mostly reside at. I normally get 1-2 3G bars in the garage. It's not exactly "underground" moreso as it is covered. You can see daylight from my spot.
     
  6. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #6
    I gotta question. On very cold days, sometimes it might take 2-3 times for my car to start. Never more than that though. Would I be able to tell if my car actually started?
     
  7. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #7
    Okay, first I suck. My brain wasn't working and I said Rogers assuming you were in Canada. Are you in the U.S. and on AT&T?

    It actually doesn't come with a fob anymore as far as I know. That's how they reduced the price this year. You'd have to add it separately. Canadian versions never came with a fob. Viper's remote start systems are supposed to work up to 2000 feet though. I know that's usually with a clear view to your vehicle though. Do you have a window facing the parking garage?
     
  8. TonyC28 macrumors 65816

    TonyC28

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Not sure if it helps, but I was researching these today on BestBuy.com. A lot of the reviews were bad. Most of the complaints are about the servers constantly being down. I also went to a local car electronics install place and the owner told me they aren't very reliable. His opinion is that so many people are buying them now cause the price has come down and Viper hasn't upgraded stuff on their end. Who knows if thats true though
     
  9. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #9
    Not really. With any 2-way system you send the command, the vehicle receives it and if the vehicle successfully receives the command it reports back to you that the command was successfully received. The assumption is that it started as far as I know. Even if the system has a status mode, it reports back to you what state it thinks the vehicle is in. So, if the vehicle received the start command successfully, the system would indicate that the vehicle was started, even if for some reason the vehicle failed to start.
     
  10. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #10
    Yes there were some issues and Viper just emailed out a letter out to owners a few days ago, apologizing for problems and letting us know that they have upgraded their network and are still working on upgrading it so that problems should be limited now.

    Personally, I haven't had any issues since their email. Of course only time will tell. ;) I will say that it is a fabulous system other than the network issues they had. If those have been eliminated (and I hope they have) then it works reliably.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    No, you won't be able to tell.
    I'd prob be in the same boat cause winters are cold here. So I'd start, turn off and start again to make sure it warms up.
    I had the smartstart so far for over 5 months and it's great to have. Also it notifies you iPhone and it makes a siren sound when your alarm goes off.
    Coverage is great where I'm at so if you don't get carrier signal where your car is parked you might have probs.
     
  12. mikelegacy thread starter macrumors 65816

    mikelegacy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #12
    thanks for the help!

    I hope the reviews start getting better for this, because it does seem to be a very useful product. I think I can hold off for a while.
     
  13. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #13
    If you have the starter/security combo. ;) I have only the remote start option as my vehicle has a decent factory security system.
     
  14. TonyC28 macrumors 65816

    TonyC28

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Good info, thanks. The place I went to said it would cost $649 installed. Is that a rip off? Sounded kinda high...
     
  15. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #15
    It won't make a difference honestly. My wife's Aunt, who I also know personally, had a remote start system on her car and it was stolen out of her driveway while she had it running and the security system set. Personally, I wouldn't get one installed just because it's a huge temptation to thieves.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Oh I see. I got the whole alarm and remote combo installed.
    It's good to know if your alarm goes off in case you don't hear it.
     
  17. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #17
    Well perhaps she had one of the systems where they install a key under the dash to fool the immobilizer system and the vehicle could be hotwired? Because those defeat the entire purpose of the security system. If you have a system with a proper bypass installed, it only bypasses the immobilizer while being started. When it's running, you can't drive anywhere without the key, and if you hit the brake, the vehicle stops running. Hot wiring doesn't work. Or perhaps your aunt had an older vehicle without an immobilizer at all?

    Anyhoo, none of this is really the point of the thread which is feedback on the Viper SmartStart system (and the remote start feature doesn't function any different than other modern remote start out there).
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    If they want to steal it they will. Having it running with a remote starter won't make it any easier cause you can't drive the car unless the key is in.
     
  19. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #19
    Ya, there is a low theft rate of vehicles in our area so I didn't opt to override the security system already there. If I lived elsewhere I totally would have.
     
  20. QuarterSwede, Dec 7, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010

    QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #20
    All I know is that she had a top of the line system with a fob that would alert her to any tampering and it was still stolen. I've know nothing more. I guess my main point is that having your car running and not being in sight of it pretty much calls the car out, especially in a garage or parking lot. Just be careful.
     
  21. SnowDX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #21
    How cold are we talking here? Are you plugging the vehicle in? Because it sound to me like if the engine is having trouble starting when it's cold, that it could do with a block heater and being plugged in. You'd have better luck with a remote start system that way if your vehicle started the first time and less wear on your starter as well not having to crank it so many times.

    It gets cold here and our vehicles are always plugged in for the night (and day too if it's left for hours) unless in a heated garage. When plugged in, my vehicle starts first try every time even when it's as cold as -22°F down to -40°F (those numbers are not typos) and with even colder wind blowing into the front of my vehicle.
     

Share This Page