iPhone Anyone used AdBlocker?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TH55, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. TH55 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #1
    It works great but now when I touch and hold on a photo this had been added to the menu that appears:

    [​IMG]

    Very annoying, I accidentally clicked it repeatedly, I had to uninstall the tweak and suffer the ads. Annoying.
     
  2. ASVP MOB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #2
    Delete Adblocker my friend ,
    download Weblock from the apple app store its better and more simple !
     
  3. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #3
    Thank you!
     
  4. ASVP MOB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #4
    You're welcome !
     
  5. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #5
    Can't seem to get it to work. When I set my http to auto as it instructs, there is no url that appears.
     
  6. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Myzhi

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #6
    In the Weblock app, go into setup and click on the link to auto copy. Now, go back into wifi, set to auto, and then, in the URL, use the paste command to enter the link. Back out of wifi, you are done. Go back into Weblock and under "Status," you should see 3 green bars which means it's working.
     
  7. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #7
    Where is "status"?
     
  8. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Myzhi

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #8
    Load up the app, click on the 3 lines icon to left of "Filter." At the bottom, under "Status," you'll see your wifi name, and to the right if it, a bar either green or red. Green is it's working. Also, makes sure it's green in the next 2 lines.
     
  9. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #9
    Ok it's green!

    How do I add an item I want to block?
     
  10. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Myzhi

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #10
    I haven't done any myself, but I would assume you would add it under "Blacklist."
     
  11. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #11
    Great thanks! Also, does this slow down your phone or drain battery at all?
     
  12. AlphaHel1X macrumors newbie

    AlphaHel1X

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #12

    Was slower for me. Seemed to hang and become unresponsive if I left my iPad alone for awhile.

    If you're jailbroken, use a hosts file. From BaSIC or theirus
     
  13. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #13
    What's a hosts file
     
  14. AlphaHel1X, Aug 9, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014

    AlphaHel1X macrumors newbie

    AlphaHel1X

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #14
    Anyone used AdBlocker?

    Basically, a system file that blocks "known" adservers.

    Add this repo: http://repo.thireus.com/thireus.pub

    Go to Thireus's repo, and tap "security". Next install "hosts cleaner" and then either "light hosts blocker" or "untrustex hosts blocker" but not both.

    Wouldn't hurt to use the "hosts file flipswitch" which will allow you to turn it on/off easier

    The light version is the same, but has ~1/3 as many hosts blocked. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1407617864.807760.jpg
     
  15. Samanosuke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #15
    I second using thireus' hosts blocker. This dev is just badass in so many ways.
     

Share This Page