Anyone using 6TB disk internally? (6TB disk only recognised on cold boot)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mattww, Feb 6, 2015.

  1. Mattww, Feb 6, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2015

    Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    As per the title - I recently installed an Hitachi 6TB NAS 7200rpm disk in my Mac Pro 09 (5.1) as the 4TB disk was getting full for Time machine. This works fine except if I do a restart in which case it isn't seen in the Finder or in Disk Utility.

    If I shutdown and restart it mount normally....
     
  2. ZombiePhysicist macrumors 6502

    ZombiePhysicist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    #2
    Strange. This *may* suggest there is something wrong with power delivery on this drive. I had something very similar a long time ago and the problem was the drive wasn't getting enough juice for proper spin up, and for some reason the cold boot was just enough.

    The solution then was to get a new/bigger power supply. However, that's not likely to be the case here. But what it may mean that the 6TB *might* be defective in someway in drawing power.

    I'd suggest replacing the drive...
     
  3. Mattww thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #3
    Many thanks for the reply.

    It's odd as it also mounts and works OK after sleep which I assumed was a smaller power change than a full cold boot.

    I also don't think it is a overpower issue with machine itself as I've been careful to keep within specs of the total power budget when changing GPU and CPUs (now running a 7950 Mac Edition and X5675's).

    I guess this NAS model is just so new there are no more reports of it's use internally. Will most likely try returning it for exchange - might just get a cheap USB disk so I don't loose one of my backups whilst waiting for this.
     
  4. Mattww thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    Support seem to think it is a power up issue with high capacity drives I'm experiencing which seems odd to me so is anyone using any 6TB models internally in a Mac Pro without this issue?

    The drives I know of other than this 6TB Hitachi NAS version are:

    6TB Hitachi Ultrastar with Helium
    WD Red (NAS) 6TB, WD Purple (CCTV) 6TB or WD (low Power) Green 6TB?
     
  5. savoirfaire macrumors 6502

    savoirfaire

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Do you know anyone with a Mac Pro near you who you can test out the drive on?
     
  6. Mattww thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #6
    Unfortunately not - everyone seems to buy laptops or iMacs except me..
     

Share This Page