Anyone using a Hybrid SSD/HDD on a MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by windowstomac, Feb 20, 2012.

1. windowstomac macrumors regular

Quite tempted by one of these hybrid drives which has 8GB of SSD and the rest as a standard hard drive.

Has anyone got one? What kind of effect has it had on overall speed? Odd though it may sound, I would rather have a subjective review - i.e. how much faster it feels day-to-day than figures...

2. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

ECUpirate44

I've had one for a week and I haven't noticed much difference when compared to a 7200 RPM drive.

3. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

teerexx52

I have a Momentus XT 500GB. It is quicker than my stock 5400. System boots in about 30 seconds. I like it. Worth the investment in my opinion

4. talmy macrumors 601

talmy

I've been using one (the 500GB Momentus XT) for about 14 months. In artificial testing of boot time, performing multiple boots in a row until the time minimized, startup time got much faster. However my working set of files is larger than the SSD cache and I don't see any boot speed up in "real life" so the only real benefit has been the 7200rpm rotational speed of the drive. OTOH it vibrates.

I understand the new Momentus XT 750GB drive has a much larger cache and works better. I'll probably give that a try on my next system. I need too much disk space to go with a pure SSD. Perhaps the ideal solution is to have a standard large capacity HD and replace the optical drive with an SSD of about 64GB to hold the OS and applications?

5. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

dlimes13

Exactly what I'm doing and couldn't be happier. It's the best of both worlds.
    64 GB Samsung 830 SSD + 1 TB Western Digital HDD
    However, I may get a 128 GB SSD so I can Boot Camp with SSD as well.

6. rebby macrumors 6502