Anyone using Apple TV on 4:3 set via component?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by PaulMoore, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. PaulMoore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #1
    I ask because I do want to get one but don't have a HD 16:9 set yet (and won't for a while).

    I know it's possible to use Apple TV via component leads on a 4:3 set (though the set will need to letterbox the image to preserve the aspect ratio).

    Is anyone actually doing this and if so what's your experience been like? Any unexpected pitfalls?
     
  2. datawrangler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #2
    My Sony CRT set is 4:3 SDTV, but I switch it to "Enhanced Mode" for viewing 16:9 programming on AppleTV set to 480i over component cables. Works fine, except the text size gets pretty small on many of the menu screens. Video content looks great, though.
     
  3. PaulMoore thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #3
    Thanks- I have a Sony CRT too. It's a KV-27FS120.

    Do you have to switch it to 16:9 every time you switch to the Apple TV input or can the TV set 'remember' the setting?
     
  4. virus7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #4
    my brother-in-law is running an apple tv on a Sony SDTV over component. Works well, obviously not as clear has an HD picture, but definitely doable. If you have an SDTV with component i'd take the :apple:TV plunge.
     
  5. wmealer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #5
    I happen to also have a Sony CRT with 16:9 enhanced mode. Mine can't remember that setting. I have to change it every time, which drove me nuts the brief period of time I had my :apple:tv in the bedroom.
     
  6. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    I have an :apple:TV and a 4:3 Hitachi Ultravision tv that does not have the "enhanced" mode, so I normally use it only for audio. I would certainly not recommend it for video on a 4:3 tv unless it does have the "enhanced" mode.
     

Share This Page