Anyone using iPhone 3g with Telcel in Mexico?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Cask, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. Cask Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #1
    After think I was going stick with my jailbroken V1 iPhone, but after selling my older iPhone for almost 7,000 MXP (like 680 USD) in Mercado Libre (Mexico's ebay) I finally decided to purchase the new iPhone 3G with an unlimited data plan in Mexico with Telcel. I didn't get one of the crappy limited iPhone plans they are selling, but got my older plan and a unlimited 3G data plan. It was a nice surprise that 3G speeds are faster than I thought they will be. I am getting around 1600 kbps. Much better than the speed I got with Edge on my V1 iPhone and what I have been reading people get with AT&T in the US. What has been you experience?
     
  2. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #2
    well i dont have the iphone 3g, but when i came to mexico for vacation i was using Telcel on my 2g and it was great. i had full bars everywhere and the reception was awesome
     
  3. Cask thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #3
    Actually my experience with Telcel and the 2g iPhone were somewhat poor, I experienced dropped cars once in a while and few signal bars. I expected that since they just started deploying their 3g network this year, coverage would not be any good. But it was a nice surprise to find a nice working and fast data network, at least in my city, along with better call quality.

    I guess I won't be using the Disable 3G option much. :)
     
  4. pakito360 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

Share This Page