Anyone using OCZ vertex 120GB SSD?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Loa, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #1
    Hello,

    Do we have a few ppl using this SSD as boot volume?

    If so, did the performance decrease noticeably after a few weeks?

    Any other problems you could share with us (me)?

    Thanks

    Loa
     
  2. Outcast-au macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #2
    I'm running may 2.6 quad mac pro with the above listed ssd as a boot volume ... still only first week but i have not yet noticed any decrease in performance. I'll keep you posted.
     
  3. davidharrisinuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #3
    I'm running a new 2009 Macpro and using an OCz 120 Vertex it wont boot with the OCZ in there. If I take it out it boots just fine. Puzzled and depressed.
     
  4. Loa thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #4
    Have you tried updating the firmware? Also, you can visit the OCZ Vertex forums, there are quite a few Mac threads in there.

    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=186

    Loa
     
  5. davidharrisinuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #5
    **solved**

    Problem solved. OCZ 10G Vetex, as shipped, has 1.1 firmware but it needs the 1.3 firmware flashed onto it.
    I did that and now it boots up and recognises the drive fine.

    See here for more details firmware image and instructions: http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=57516
     

Share This Page