Anyone using the 2009/2010 iMac 27 as a display?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by panzer06, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #1
    I'm thing of upgrading my 24" to a 27" 2010. I have the Alienware gaming laptop and would like to use the iMac display for gaming.

    Is anyone doing this as a reliable gaming screen?

    Cheers,
     
  2. SawceBaws macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #2
    I don't think thats possible. You'd probably be better buying a Cinema Display and keeping your current iMac.
     
  3. panzer06 thread starter macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #3
    This is what Apple's website says for the refurb 2010 model:

    Video : Built-in iSight camera; Mini DisplayPort output with support for DVI, dual-link DVI, and VGA video (requires adapters, sold separately); supports input from external DisplayPort sources (requires cables and adapters, sold separately)

    My Alienware M17xR3 has a mini-displayport connector so based on the above statement I should just be able to connect to the iMac input. I just wondered if anyone had actually used this method.

    Cheers,
     
  4. panzer06 thread starter macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #4
    Hmmm, I guess that's why they felt eliminating this functionality on the 2011 models was no big deal ... hardly anyone was using it.

    It seems great to me.

    Cheers,
     
  5. AbeFroman77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #5
    I know a few people using the 2009 and 2010 iMacs as an external display for PCs and Gaming Consoles.
     
  6. panzer06 thread starter macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #6
    That's great. Was it as simple as using a mini-dp to mini-dp cable? can u also use min-dp to hdmi adapters with a standard hdmi cable?

    Cheers,
     
  7. panzer06 thread starter macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #7
    OK, finally bought a 2010 iMac and used the mini-DP to mini-DP cable to connect my Alienware M17xR3 and it works great. All the programs and processes I have running on the Mac keep running and all my Windows games are played on this beautiful 27" display.

    It's very sad Apple took that functionality away on the 2011 models but I guess hardly anyone used it.

    Cheers,
     
  8. obsidian1200 macrumors 6502

    obsidian1200

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #8
    That's great you got the MDP-MDP connection working :) have you by any chance tried using a MDP-HDMI connection with target display mode? If not, I'll have a chance later this week, as my 2010 iMac is due to come any day now and I already have the adapter and HDMI cable :)

    Also, it's sad that Apple took the MDP compatibility away, however there are third party sources working to make it so that you can use an HDMI source with the newer display. The problem is, more or less, the target display mode's capability has been limited to work with thunderbolt-equipped devices only. It's still there, but just much more limited than before.
     
  9. panzer06, Aug 15, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011

    panzer06 thread starter macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #9
    Hmmm, since both systems have MDP I never considered using my MDP-HDMI adapter. I can test it if you'd like.

    EDIT, that's a no go on the HDMI cable connected to MDP-HDMI adapter (at least the one I own).

    Cheers,
     
  10. obsidian1200, Aug 15, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011

    obsidian1200 macrumors 6502

    obsidian1200

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #10
    Oh don't sweat it :) I was just curious if the video signal would work without using a converter. I'll go ahead and give it a go tomorrow or the next day and come back to report. Based on what I've read, however, I'll probably end up having to invest in something a little more pricy than the adapter :(

    Edit: ah, I figured as much would happen. Thanks for trying! :)
     
  11. panzer06 thread starter macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #11
    That really stinks because I've read those converters may or may not let you access the full resolution of the display. Best of luck to you!

    The ATI 6990 in the Alienware runs the full resolution quite well.

    Cheers,
     
  12. jsolares macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Land of eternal Spring
    #12
    They didn't actually took it away, it's just that now instead of MDP to MDP you need it to be TB to TB, and only the newest apple laptops support TB
     
  13. panzer06 thread starter macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #13
    Er, yeah they removed, took away, eliminated or discontinued the more widely supported target display mode for Displayport capable devices; replacing said functionality with a currently Apple only target display mode TB only capability.

    In my world that's taking something away, buy hey that's just me. :rolleyes:

    Cheers,
     
  14. jsolares macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    Land of eternal Spring
    #14
    They removed the ability to use mDP not the entire functionality tho, the price of progress and all that, i wonder if it was deliberate or a by-product of TB.

    I wonder how much the adapters will cost, kinda like the kanex hdmi one for the current displays, then you'll get it back but at what cost.
     
  15. obsidian1200 macrumors 6502

    obsidian1200

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #15
    Thanks, and yes, from what I'm reading, I'll only be able to get a 720p resolution, which is just fine for the gaming I do :) I'll eventually get an external blu ray drive for the iMac for blu ray, so I don't mind being limited to the gaming resolutions. Plus, the converters are dropping in price because they're not compatible with TB equipped Macs.
     

Share This Page