Anyone using Time Machine in High Sierra Beta?

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by kbajura, Jul 2, 2017.

  1. kbajura macrumors newbie

    kbajura

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #1
    After install the beta to High Sierra on my MBP, my hard drive was put in the exclusion list in Time Machine. It’s greyed out too so I can’t remove it. When Time Machine tries to back up, it complains that there is nothing to back up which is true since everything is excluded. Is there anyway to fix this?
     
  2. perquesta macrumors newbie

    perquesta

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #2
    yes, and to an APFS Drive to boot. No problems.
     
  3. kbajura thread starter macrumors newbie

    kbajura

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #3

    What version are you on? I am on 10.13 Beta (17A291m). I heard something about that they disabled TimeMachine in this release?
     
  4. BaggieBoy macrumors 6502

    BaggieBoy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    You heard wrong. I have that version and Time Machine is working just fine.
     
  5. kbajura thread starter macrumors newbie

    kbajura

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #5
    It doesn’t make any sense. Why is my hard drive in the exclusion list and I can’t remove it? Did you go directly to that version or did you do a previous version?

    I saw some other people had the same issue I have even here on this forum.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 2, 2017 ---
     

    Attached Files:

  6. pilotkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #6
    I am having this same issue. My hard drive is on the excluded disk and greyed out...I am trying to find an answer to this, if I find one I'll post it. I am running the developer preview of High Sierra beta.
     
  7. kbajura thread starter macrumors newbie

    kbajura

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #7
    I wonder if people who it’s working for did an earlier beta and this beta has the issue.
     
  8. MacGizmo macrumors 6502a

    MacGizmo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    The problem does exist. Lots of people can't get Time Machine to work with the first Public Beta of High Sierra. But plenty of people are having no issues at all.
     
  9. pilotkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #9
    I was looking in the Apple Developer Forums...It was disabled in the Developer Beta, according to the release notes...It will be re-enabled but for the time being it looks like its been turned off until the next beta. Some one feel free to correct me if I have misunderstood this...
     
  10. tywebb13, Jul 2, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2017

    tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #10
    There is a rather disturbing contradiction in the seed note.

    First it says

    "Back up your Mac.

    Always back up your data and files before installing beta versions of macOS. If you have multiple Mac computers, we strongly recommend installing on a secondary system. Backing up files on a Mac is easy with Time Machine, the built-in backup utility."

    Then later in the seed note it says

    "Time Machine is disabled for macOS High Sierra 10.13 beta 2 update 1 (17A291m). Apple recommends turning off Time Machine for APFS volumes on earlier versions of macOS 10.13 beta 2 as the space for snapshot files may not be freed correctly."

    And that build 17A291m is the same as the public beta. So this explains why time machine isn't working in the public beta for an APFS installation of High Sierra - and why it is working if the installation is HFS+.

    I think they should have fixed it before releasing the public beta - even if it meant not meeting the deadline of "end of June".

    They don't give public beta testers seed notes. Developers get seed notes and I always read the seed note in case there is something unusual that I need to know about before installing it. I don't know why they don't give public beta testers seed notes, but I think it would be a good idea to do so.

    I hope they will fix it before releasing the golden master. They should not release a broken system.
     
  11. pilotkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #11
    I agree 100%. Yes(!), it is a beta. However, backing up regularly while using betas is pretty much the most important thing to do. They should have fixed it before releasing this beta. Hints why all the Genius Bar appointments are booked....
     
  12. kbajura thread starter macrumors newbie

    kbajura

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #12
    Its's really not that big of an issue to me right now. All my documents are in the cloud, so I am not too concerned. It's just very odd that Time Machine doesn't tell you anything like "I've turned this off....." :)
     
  13. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #13
    Well time machine itself doesn't say it, but developers were forewarned about it in the seed note.

    What I find odd is that they would release this broken version as the first public beta - without forewarning public beta testers too.

    It is a very good example of why apple should start providing seed notes to public beta testers too. (Actually they should have been doing that ever since public betas started).
     
  14. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #14
    My friend's machine with iMac i5 2017 27" model can't get time machine to work either.
    I haven't tried high sierra yet, posting here, because i just had this chat with him earlier today when he asked me.
     
  15. RamGuy macrumors 6502a

    RamGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    #15
    It worked for me in dev beta 1, dev beta 2 but not in dev beta 2.1.
     
  16. kbajura thread starter macrumors newbie

    kbajura

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #16
    This is probably a stupid question, but how do you get newer updates. Or do you need to download the entire beta and install again?
     
  17. DarthBradicus macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #17
    Updates to the beta will be available though the Updates tab in the Mac App Store, just like any other update.
     
  18. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #18
    I find it perplexing that they weren't ready with some support for TimeMachine. If it was alpha, fine, b it i6ts not And no statement when converting to Apple FS that there'd be lack of support and to keep HFS+ untillater to retain TM backup.

    And yes I expected TimeMachine to fail and corupt drives, require initializing. Why I made 3-4 CCC backups and 4 with TimeMachine, and still some SSD and spindle drives to use with 10.13.x

    Now if only I could leave drives connected and MacBook sleep and not come back in AM with "failed to eject properly." Something that in ten years with Windows 7-10 never had happened.

    Ditto, would you please dump to tape and attach changes to end of file? Thanks.
     
  19. RamGuy macrumors 6502a

    RamGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    #19
    This has nothing to do with AFPS. I had to restore from Time Machine Backup yesterday as my MacBook Pro 13-inch with Touch Bar running 10.13 dev beta 2.1 froze completely and would only boot with a black screen. I restored from 10.13 dev beta 2 backup, and it worked out perfectly fine. So there doesn't seem to be any major issues with Time Machine Backups and Restores even when using AFPS.
     
  20. fl1pper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #20
    I am on 10.13 Beta (17A306f). Stuck on "Preparing Backup..." Why they would release a beta without backup capability is beyond me. As well, this morning the App Store insists there's a new "beta 5" which is already installed, but it downloads, says, hit restart to finish, then re-downloads... and on and on like this. Development releases seem to be going backwards. Tons of issues with bugs reported four releases ago, still unaddressed...
     
  21. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #21
    It's been working great for me. I TM to a Time Capsule wirelessly and also to a connected external hard drive.
     
  22. Jayderek macrumors 6502

    Jayderek

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #22
    same here - after the first couple beta releases, everything is working well with Time Machine.
     
  23. BaggieBoy macrumors 6502

    BaggieBoy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    I've had a few glitches. One is where I get a notification that there hasn't been a backup for 500+ days, however recent backups are there. Also I've see it attempting to backup the entire SSD contents (350GB+). The two issues may be related.
     

Share This Page