Anyone went from 15 MBPr to 13 MBPr?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PressureDrop, Jan 11, 2014.

1. PressureDrop macrumors newbie

Hi there,

since christmas I occupy myself if I should sell my MacBookPro Retina 15 (purchased in November 2012) and upgrade to a current 13 inch retina model. The main reason for this idea was that I 'm traveling by train very often and I find the 15-inch model a little bit too bulky to work with.

As a software developer I have generally possessed a 15-inch device in the past, but in my opinion today's dual-core processors are also very sufficient.

However, I am torn a bit back and forth, because I will lose screen space. I'm a fan of minimalist systems - usually a laptop is enough for me with no extra cable cluttering my desk. As a desktop a 15-inch system is truly the best all-round system.

So my question: Is there someone who has gone a similar decision here?

Thank you,
    Pressure Drop

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I went from a 2010 (non retina) 13" MBP to a 2012 15" rMBP because I felt the screen was too small. I agree the 15" is a bit bigger and I don't use it on a train. I have used it on a plane and found it fine but depending on the situation on the train I can see it being cramped.

The justification for my move from the 13" to the 15" is the screen real estate. It was just too cramped for my needs, and demoting into other systems (I maintain servers) was causing a lot of eye strain on the 13". I found the 13" screen too small for Aperture and photoshop as well.

I'm rocking with a 2012" rMBP and I've extremely happy, YMMV but I think going from a 15" to a 13" will be a huge adjustment.

3. jondunford macrumors 6502

jondunford

i had a 15" retina briefly and "downgraded" to a 13"

what resolution scale do you use yours on? i thought the scaled options were the same for both models, just it will look smaller on the 13