anyone with 3GB RAM in their mb C2D(not pro)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by juanster, May 13, 2007.

  1. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #1
    I have been shopping around and i will be upgrading sometime soon to 3gb of ram in my macbook, anyone here already done so, if so how is it?
     
  2. juanster thread starter macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
  3. verticalforce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #3
    As they say, the more's the better.

    Probably won't improve general application performance by much unless you really experience a bog-down while multi-tasking.
     
  4. Ibjr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Eastern seaboard
    #4
    i recall benchmarks showing the gains with 3 gigs were bigger than the advantage of stick pariry. goggle chipset and 3 gigs
     
  5. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #5
    The MacBook will only see 2GB of Ram .. The 3GB is only for the MBP
     
  6. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #6
    yea, if you are not talking about a MBP, im afraid your stuck with 2gb
     
  7. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #7

    thats correct
     
  8. juanster thread starter macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #8
  9. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #9
    They both use the same Intel 945 chipset, so there's no reason that it can't see 3GB
     
  10. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Wrong! the MB can have 3GB ram! just a lil tricky to fit i think!

    I have a fully speced BMB and 2GB is fine :)
     
  11. juanster thread starter macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
  12. polevault139 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #13
    The performance gain you would see is not really worth it. The MB really does benefit from dual channel memory. I saw some benchmarks on OWC a few week ago and they didnt look that impressive to me. So in the future when the price goes down on the 2GB chips it might be worth it but with prices where they are now there really is no reason to have 3GB in your MB unless you need it.
     
  13. verticalforce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #14
    Anyone know if Leopard will be able to address more than 3 gb or is this just hardware limitations?
     
  14. juanster thread starter macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #15
    hardware limitations from what i understand...
     
  15. BigPrince macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #16
    More RAM does helping with rendering clips and videos though right?
     
  16. hidehide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    #17
    I remember looking at the report of 2gb vs 3gb ram..
    Running programs are a little faster..
    However, in running 3d, 2gb is better...

    So I sticked with 2gb..
     

Share This Page