Anything*negative to say about Mountain Lion??

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by clarkkent18, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. clarkkent18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    Elk Grove, Ca
    #1
    Does any one have anything to say about why you do not like about Mountain Lion and why someone (like me) should staying with Lion (besides the fact we all lost MobileMe)? Like *Gatekeeper, Sandbox, SSD (which I do not have in any of my Macs) and/or Keychain or something over this no-developer head? I have tried asking this question in a different posting, but it included more than this one topic. Hence why I am reasoning this question alone.*
     
  2. chisasba macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #2
    There's a couple things here that have changed.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1410888

    Everyone will have their own opinion so I'll leave it up to you. Coming from SL to ML, there's nothing bad that I can find other than some menus changing but that's not a big deal.
     
  3. DOGONO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #3
    I've always been pretty easy to please I suppose... Personally, I have no issues with mountain lion, on the contrary, I find a few of its features to be welcome improvements. Notification center will be really great once more apps take advantage of it. Sucks for Growl though. They literally have no reason to exist in the 10.8 world, except for a few small features I suppose. Easier tweeting is nice too, as well as being able to backup to multiple disks. I have no complaints, except I wish they had kept spotlight in the same place. It does make sense for them to have the notification center button where it is, still though...
     
  4. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #4
    I'm still really ticked about AirPlay not working on this Mac that isn't even two years old yet. The apparent reason is because it doesn't have some thing in the GPU which means it would require a load on the processor. Right now I'm converting a movie for iTunes, and it's using about 3/4 of my processing power.

    I. Don't. Care.

    AirParrot will do the same damn thing if I pay $10 for what is probably mostly the same software that is in the OS somewhere. If my dual-core 1.2-ish Ghz iPad can do AirPlay mirroring, why the frack can't my 3.06Ghz i3?

    So it'll take a while to get over that, if ever. But I like the unified address/search bar, I like documents in the cloud. Facebook integration will be nice once it gets here. I like having notes and reminders on here so I can sync them with my iOS devices.
     
  5. mentaluproar, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012

    mentaluproar macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #5
    Because your ipad is using hardware accelerated encoding (A5), which is what the newer intel CPUs do with quicksync. Efficiency is more important than power.

    go here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=15331080
     
  6. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #6
    I know, and I did appreciate the thorough explanation. But as someone mentioned elsewhere, there are people with about 8 processing cores on a Mac Pro and 24GB of RAM who are told they can't run this. Are you telling me that hardware acceleration will improve this feature THAT much on some new MacBook Air compared to a hoss Mac Pro?

    I understand things working BETTER on new computers. This just seems like I've been left out because it wouldn't work as well. Considering Apple didn't totally ditch people using PPC applications until a couple of years later, I totally don't understand this move. Considering the fact that I could easily set up an Apple TV in here and thus add a 32" TV as a second display, that's kind of a killer.
     
  7. mentaluproar macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #7
    Yes. Because they won't need a mac pro to do it. That's the point. Besides, you can connect multiple displays to a mac pro without an appleTV.
     

Share This Page