Anyway to downgrade to 3.0.1 from 3.1?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Maverick1337, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #1
    I downloaded the 3.0.1 firmware and when i tried to restore to it, i get a (1015) error. Does anyone know how to fix this?
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Did you put the device into DFU mode or recovery mode first?
     
  3. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #3
    You are trying to downgrade a 3G iphone?
     
  4. Tomb85 Guest

    Tomb85

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #4
    If you get this done please let me know. 3.1 is the biggest ball ache I've had for a while!! :(
     
  5. stockscalper macrumors 6502a

    stockscalper

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    Area 51
    #5
  6. Maverick1337 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #6
    when i try to restore it, it gives me the error 1015, then it says im in DFU mode

    Edit - yes im trying to do it with an iphone 3G
     
  7. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #7
    I too have tried every way possible on my 3G iPhone and have now given up.

    I don't think it's possible. Pwnage or Redsnow may need to be updated. I tried both of those as well.
     
  8. Maverick1337 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #8
    actually im in recovery mode should i be in DFU mode?
     
  9. Tomb85 Guest

    Tomb85

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #9
    When I was using the 3.1 betas I ad an issue I still have now and I busted my tail to try and get it down to 3.0. Tried DFU restore too. Nada. Countless errors. Drove me round the bend!
     
  10. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #10
    So your saying you can't point iTunes to force Restore to OS 3.0 by holding Option key and hit Restore then point iTunes to 3.0 file?
     
  11. Maverick1337 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #11
    Seriously, what did 3.1 do. Not only did it erase all my older firmwares, it is impossible to downgrade back to older firmwares. If anyone finds any way to get back to 3.0 or 3.0.1, please let us know because 3.1 was not worth breaking my tethering options

    Thats what ive been doing, but once it finishes, it gives me the error 1015 and says my phone is in recovery mode.
     
  12. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
  13. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #13
  14. Maverick1337 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #14
    Yes i can get back to 3.1 no problem, but i dont want 3.1 at all, i want my tethering and MMS back at 3.0.1. 3.1 was nothing more than a blocking of the exploits to make AT$T more money.
     
  15. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #15
    I read that iTunes 9 will not allow to downgrade iPhone OS. I would try to install 3.0 from a machine with iTunes 8.
     
  16. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #16
    I have already tried that on my Windows laptop. I got the error 1015 there.
     
  17. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
  18. iJiN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #18
    Tried on both XP and Vista to no success. I don't think its downgradable...if any has had success do let us know.
     
  19. Maverick1337 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #19
    If 3.1 isnt downgradable, fml i want my free tethering back
     
  20. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #20
    Those of you who are getting the error 1015 loop, have you made sure that you put your phone in DFU mode before your downgrade? I am told that if you are in DFU mode you will get the error once but will be able to reboot to 3.0.1 anyway.
     
  21. eh270 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #21
    I didn't enable tethering or jailbreak my iphone, and find 3.1 to be so unbearably slow that I want to go back to 3.0.1 ... doesn't sound like it's possible though, given the responses in this thread. I think I still have my archived backup from before I upgraded, could i restore to that in iTunes?
     
  22. rcg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #22
    1015 = GOOD just use irecovery and fsboot

    error code 1015 is a good error code to have, you must use itunes 8.2 but when you restore a earlier version of your iphone/ipod firmware and get error code 1015 (itunes was unable to downgrade), while your iphone/ipod shows up on the itunes restore screen all you need to do is use irecovery: type irecovery -s while in a command line in the same directory and load up a shell and type fsboot it will restart the device and when its back up you will be on the firmware you just recently restored. Funny part about 1015 error, it means your device isnt being allowed to restart, but its already installed the firmware you just restored it to. Also make sure you have libusb installed which im sure most of you should have installed by now.
     
  23. jw12345678 macrumors member

    jw12345678

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    eh? I got the bit about irecovery....managed to google it, but got a bit lost with the rest....... Please explain..... (if its possible to do so to a novice termite (That is someone who uses Terminal isnt it?))
     
  24. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #24
    At this time you cannot downgrade from 3.1 to 3.0.1 because the BASEBAND is flashed to a newer version along with the firmware. Itunes is another issue where Itunes no longer signs any previous firmwares prior to 3.1

    Basically at this time downgrading isn't an option even in DFU and with Itunes 8.2
     
  25. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #25
    No that won't work. Backups don't include firmware; only personal data.
     

Share This Page