Anyway to get 50-60mins of Pro ress down to 100MB .mp4?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by steveOooo, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    My client wants several 40-60min videos compressed down to SD and HD version that he can sell as downloadable files - he wants them to be around 100MB - is this possible?

    Im trying to do the SD (small dimensions) first, then HD resolution using Quicktime pro / compressor and h.264 - lowest i have it is around 250MB
     
  2. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #2
    you can, it will just look horrible.

    what is his quality expectation?

    why 100mb?
     
  3. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    VCDs used to cram 80 minutes of MPEG-1 video at a size of 352 x 288 (or 240 for NTSC) into 650MB.

    MPEG4 is an improvement, but it can't work magic.

    Apart from that, everything Matteus said.
     
  4. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    yup! i vagely said 'around 500mb' which is fine .

    its 100mb as hes paying for certain amount of hosting and wants to cram as much in, but if you buy a 100mb 40min video you would want your money back - ive got a 50min video down to 120mb at 200kbps / 64kbps aac and its a colection of blocks! 400kbps is actually pretty decent - so 200mb is probably the lowest.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    40 minutes in 100 MB as SD will be 42KB/s, which is a very, very low bit-rate, though it is possible, if one looks at some of the TV episode sharing sites. They can get 42 minutes into files with sometimes less than 100MB (91MB), but the quality is terrible, even with a sophisticated codec like H.264.

    40 minutes in 100MB as HD will look very, very terrible, even at 250MB.

    Can you explain to your client, that such a wish will come at a very hefty price?

    You could provide him/her with samples (1 minute video at the same bit-rate as 40 minutes would be at 100MB) via MPEG Streamclip, as the Export as QuickTime (CMD+E) option gives you the option to set a bit rate, which in reverse will show you the target file size.

    For example, I have transcoded an HD (1920 x 1056 pixel) clip via MPEG Streamclip to four different ones, all using the same small data rate, thus a small clip (equivalent to 40 minutes in 100MB) should come out.
    It didn't work with HD, only with SD. The HD clips were all 15 or 17 MB in size, with 1m25s of visual and fast moving content.

    It looked horrible.

    The source image
    image is clickable
    [​IMG]

    HD results and settings
    images are clickable
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    SD results and settings
    images are clickable
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    I applied the same settings in HandBrake, as you can set a target size and also selected the two pass method, but the results were horrible too.
    I got a very good result with a target size of 25MB for the 1m25s video, which would be a combined data rate of 300KB/s for video and audio.


    [​IMG]
     
  6. ShiftClick macrumors regular

    ShiftClick

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Its not possible.

    If these are for download why the need for a dual spec? Where are these meant to be viewed?

    SD is for standard definition referring to "classic" tvs with an aspect ration of 720 x 486 interlaced image at 29.97 drop frame time code

    HD comes in about a million different flavors

    But back to the real question that you need to ask your client; Where is this going? "For download" sounds like its meant for use on computers. This means your client might want to rethink his needs.

    I'm not going to google it but I would say the average resolution to most computer users lands between 1280x800 1920x1080/1200. A decent 720p quicktime in rgb color space would be ideal. Of course we all know clients are usually idiots, so tell him its not possible and offer some solutions. I don't know maybe he wants an iphone version, ipad version, and an HD version. Will it be streamed ever?

    BUT go with quality over trying to save a few minutes on a download, nothing is worse than ruining everyone in productions hard work by delivering a piece of crap.
     
  7. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #7

    SD dose come in 16x9, in pal it 720x576 anamorphic or 1024x576, but to get the file size you need , you need to do something like a 400x255.
     
  8. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #8
    depending on the project and it's long term views, yahoo has unlimited hosting for a decent price. The servers are pretty fast.
    Then you can always look at Vimeo.com too, I don't believe the PRO version has many limitations.
    Think those could work for you?
     
  9. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #9
    May I suggest using kilobits instead of kilobytes? Bitrates aren't normally measured in *bytes.

    EDIT: Oh, I see that StreamClip does - that's odd.
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    You can change between KB/s, Kb/s, MB/s and Mb/s, though I prefer bytes over bits, but I understand where you are coming from. Bits always sound bigger and better than bytes.
     
  11. Amazing Iceman macrumors 68040

    Amazing Iceman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Location:
    Florida, U.S.A.
    #11
    How about in Black & White??? If properly done, it will surely fits... lol
     
  12. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    So ive managed to get him to up his quota - i think after seeing how poor it would be circa 150mb

    So...any suggestions on settings? i was gonna go with h.264, 1280x720, (720p), 'best quality (multipass)', 2000kbps, key frames every 25fps (pal), deinterlace,

    But, if I make it 1920x1080, can sell it more on the 'this if full hd' buy it!

    AUDIO (aac)

    - Does 'sample rate matter alot - ie can i drop this down from 48KHZ, its mainly speech (fitness instruction) - essentially how low can i get this?

    im aiming to get all 40-60min files into around 300-500MB (essentially like a HD Stream)
     
  13. KeithPratt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #13
    There's a relationship between this...

    ... and this...

    50 mins of 2000Kb/s video = 732MB.

    I'd recommend 960x540 @ 1000Kb/s, with 96Kb/s audio (leave sample rate as it is), which will be 321MB for 40 mins or 481MB for 60 mins.
     
  14. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    have just done a few samples using

    1280x720, and around 1.25 - 1.5 seems to be the lowest bit rate before quality is too poor. (this around 560MB for 1.25MBps)

    Would using smaller dimensions (960x540) result in a smaller file size?

    btw using 64kbps with 32khz sample rate and not too bad (i remember the days of using hi-md atrac at 64kbps - fine for audio books)
     
  15. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
  16. KeithPratt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #16
    If you change the resolution but leave the data rate the same, the file size will be the same. It'll look better though, because you're allocating more bits per pixel.

    But as you need to get the file size lower, whatever else you do, you need to lower the data rate.

    Kb/s is short for kilobits per second. That's your data rate. It's like miles per hour. You know the data rate you want — 500 megabytes per hour — it's just in the wrong denomination.

    To save you the maths, 500MB/h = 1140Kb/s.
     
  17. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Would 960x540 trigger hd in YouTube / vimeo etc uploads?

    Essentially HD IS better greater detail, what if a customer complains that the 960x540 video is hd as it's not the traditional 1280/720p or 1920 x 1080p dimensions?
     

Share This Page