iPhone Anyway to have Apple Remote remember my Apple TV?

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by shenfrey, Apr 23, 2019.

  1. shenfrey macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #1
    I only have the one Apple TV yet every time I need to select it from the drop down. Anyway to make it remember so I don’t have to continue to do this in the future?
     
  2. ZEEN0j macrumors 65816

    ZEEN0j

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #2
    I have two Apple TVs and from what I can remember it usually defaults to the one previously used
     
  3. Lee_Bo macrumors regular

    Lee_Bo

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #3
    Are you referring to the physical remote, or the remote app on your iDevice? The physical remote remembers the last device it was paired with. I know as I have 4 in our house. But yes, the app on your device may ask what device to connect to.
     
  4. shenfrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #4
    Yes I am referring to the app, is there n way to have it default to my Apple TV, instead of selecting it all the time.
     
  5. Lee_Bo macrumors regular

    Lee_Bo

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #5
    I'll tinker around with this when I get home. Since I mainly use the app on the ATV int he bedroom, I really only remember having to pair / select it when I initially installed the app and don't remember having to select the bedroom ATV when I use the app.

    But I'll check tonight when I get home.
     
  6. shenfrey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #6
    Thank you m8
     
  7. jtara macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #7
    Hah! I've been meaning to post about this!

    What an annoyance this "feature" introduced with iOS 12 is!

    Makes no sense that I have to keep selecting my one and only Apple TV.

    It seems to "remember" it for a few minutes. Then you have to select it again.
     

Share This Page

6 April 23, 2019