Anyway to make Netflix Streaming work on PowerPC G5 Mac ??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fab5freddy, May 23, 2009.

  1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #1
    Is there any workaround to make Netflix Streaming Movies work
    on a PowerPC G5 Tower Mac ?

    It uses Sliverlight Technology from Microsoft .
     
  2. larkost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #2
    Unlikely, there is just not enough horsepower in those old processors, especially since they have done any optimizations specifically for Intel processors (ie: MMX and its successors).
     
  3. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #3
    Whatever!
     
  4. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
  5. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #5
    I mean that larkost is talking about things he doesn't understand. Xbox 360 is PowerPC and it runs Netflix streaming. G5 PowerPCs have no problem playing 1080p H.264 video. The only thing stopping it from working on G5 Macs is Netflix (or Microsoft?) doesn't feel like it. G5s were the development kit hardware for the 360 until they had the final product finished.

    PS3 and Wii also contain PowerPC processors. The Wii processor is only running about 730Mhz. The idea that these 'old' PowerPC processors don't have enough horsepower is hooey. What PowerPC lacked was energy/heat efficiency, at least on the IBM product line. That's why the early Xbox360/PS3s were very toasty at 3.2Ghz with a stripped down PowerPC core(no out of order execution).
     
  6. Guy Incognito macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    #6
    1. Download the Silverlight installer package from Microsoft.
    2. Right-click on the PKG file and select "Show Package Contents"
    3. Delete the "InstallationCheck" file from Contents/Resources
    4. Run the installer

    Does that work?
     
  7. larkost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #7
    I don't think you understand processors. It is not the PowerPC part of the the processor that is doing the work, but rather the parts derived from the Sony Cell processor that is doing the work on the Xbox 360. Multimedia processing like this is exactly what the Cell was designed for.

    The Altivec units on the G5 are nice, but no where near the throughput of the Cell processors.
     
  8. chriszzz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #8
    Try this, its all I could find as a solution.
     
  9. stevento macrumors 6502

    stevento

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    My professor has a power pc and it's really slow. Those with formal education in computer science know that Power PC processors are backwards. They are not big endian, they are little endian. So it really may not be possible.
     
  10. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #10
    The only part of the 'Cell' processor in the Xbox 360 is the PowerPC core, with some minor changes to accommodate the different memory architecture.

    Well, I guess I'll be waiting a while to play PS3 games on G5s.

    Where is the camera? Seriously, where is the camera? There has to be a hidden camera around here. :confused:
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    The original Xbox 360 developer kits were Power Mac G5s.
     
  12. larkost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #12
    The PowerPC was a great example of a semi-RISC design. And RISC is the general direction that all major processors have gone in. In Intel's case this means that they have wrapped a CISC instruction decoder around a RISC core (it is a little more complex than that, but it is a good generalization).

    And the whole big-endian/little-endian is not something you can use to call a processor family "backwards". In fact all of the network protocols are big-endian... the same as PowerPC uses. And if you really want to go into it, the PowerPC processor could switch modes via a software command. Apple used it as big-endian, but it had a little-endian mode as well.

    As to PowerPC being slow, that is because there has been no development on the PowerPC line for more than 4 years.
     
  13. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
    #13
    Ok, So has anyone had luck with running netflix streaming on a G5 Tower ?
     
  14. Guy Incognito macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    #14
    Did you try the solution I posted?
     
  15. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #15
    I just tried it, and it does get the installer to run, but the plugin that is dropped in /Library/Internet Plug-Ins is Intel-only. Web sites still react as Silverlight not installed.
     
  16. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #16
    The problem is that Netflix is using Silverlight 2 because of its DRM features, and Microsoft made that Intel-only. There are no options for PPC users.
     
  17. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
  18. fab5freddy thread starter macrumors 65816

    fab5freddy

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    Heaven or Hell
  19. HyperZboy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #19
    The Silverlight 2.0b2 beta version WAS PowerPC capable.

    Only at the last minute, did Microsoft yank the PPC code on the final release.

    But where to get Silverlight 2.0b2 ?

    And how to make it work with Netflix? :(
     
  20. slutmobilio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    #21
  21. puhsitch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #22
  22. oskiew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #24
    Actually, if you can get that to work, let me know. I have it installed, but I cant get a browser to recognize it. Any help?
     
  23. Zotaccian macrumors 6502a

    Zotaccian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #25
    Resurrecting old thread, but with Ubuntu Linux I was able to run Netflix by using Wine-based emulation, someone had created this thing where Windows -version of Silverlight, Flash and FireFox were installed and then run by clicking that shortcut the script created. Same thing would probably be possible on PowerPC as well? Altough I think only Dual G5's would be able to run such thing fluently enough?
     

Share This Page