Anyway to retrieve custom ringtones?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cubedweller, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. cubedweller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #1
    I recently did a clean install of SL and forgot to backup all my custom ringtones and I'd hate to have to recreate them all. My phone is running 3.0.1 and is jailbroken -- can I SSH into it and retrieve the ringtones? If so, where are they stored on the phone?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. ehurdler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    #2
    Yeah you can. If you either SSH or use a program such as DiskAid you can get into the location where the ringtones are kept. I use DiskAid myself, navigate to Library/Ringtones Everything should be in there, honestly I can't say 100% because I usually just put any ringtone I make directly into this location, and never sync ringtones with iTunes. Check it out and let me know.
     
  3. cubedweller thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #3
    The ringtones stored in that folder are the default ones that come with the phone -- not the ones that I've sync'd via iTunes. I can't seem to find where they are :(

    EDIT: Found them: /User/Media/iTunes_Control/Ringtones -- and they seemed to have allowed me to re-add them to iTunes without any problems.
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    When you 1st sync you iPhone with iTunes, won't the ringtones on phone sync back to iTunes ? I believe they will if you check the ringtones box on Summary tabs and uncheck the box that tells iTunes to override all data on phone for next sync only.
     
  5. cubedweller thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #5
    Oh, I didn't know that -- either way I have them back!~ :) I got all my Applications to sync back by selecting "Transfer Purchases" but I had already copied my Ringtones out of the phone by that point so I'm not sure if that would have worked.

    When I clicked "Sync" for the first time it warned me that all the Media on the phone would be replaced with the Media in the current library -- not sure how it would handled the Ringtones.
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Unless you checked button to replace all on phone from computer, it would merge the info. If I recall, that warning always comes up on 1st sync after restore.
     

Share This Page