AoC on Mac Pro (early 2008) with 8800GT and 30" screen, anyone?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Gloor, May 27, 2008.

  1. Gloor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I have that setup but am not currently at home so was wondering if anyone tried the game with a similar setup and could tell me what is the frame rate on high setting? Is it even possible to play on native 2560x1600 on high or the 8800GT is not powerful enough to take it? I know its not a usuall question but I will not be at my computer for a while so was wondering what to expect when I get home. :)
     
  2. Boomhowler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
  3. Gloor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #3
    I don't know yet if I use Vista or XP. I just would like to know others people performance with similar machines like mine. Thanks
     
  4. damado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #4
    I played the AoC beta and it played just fine at 2560x1600. All settings were maxed out. I played it in Vista 32. I had to use DX9 though because for some reason DX10 version wouldn't load....buggy beta...bridges in the game didn't work back then either hehe. The lag was oftentimes hideous.

    I'm not sure what the frame rate was, but it was perfectly playable for me.
     
  5. JWFerne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    #5
    Don't trust Damado. He cheats at everything from poker to AoC!

    On a serious side note... i'd be curious to know how well it plays now too. :D
     
  6. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #6
    I also have an 8 core 2.8GHZ 8800GT Mac Pro with 30" ACD and I have been able to play everything on HIGH settings even with AA and AF cranked up to 16X in Windows XP. I love my system which also plays Crysis excellently. I have played Half Life 2 ( great game) on 2560 by 1600 with everything to the max and got over 100 FPS even over 200FPS at times. I love my Mac Pro and will use for a long time. Can't wait to play Far Cry 2 with it, though I think I'll have to buy a 9800 GX2. :):apple::)
     
  7. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    It seems to be playing ok'ish on the standard Mac Pro (early 2008) at 1920 x 1200 on my Apple Cinema Display.

    Although performance definitely could be better, until the Geforce 8800 GT delivers well enough performance in professional applications, the Radeon HD 2600 XT stays in.
     
  8. damado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #8
    Haha John, I'd join ya in AoC, but eve still has me addicted =P

    AoC has excellent combat mechanics and my friend is really enjoying the pvp. I never tried out the pvp side of things, but just from experiencing the combat mechanics, I'm sure it's excellent.
     
  9. Gloor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #9
    Hi, so I got home and tested it and it works beautifully on high settings. The only thing is that I have windows xp 32bit and bootcamp (windows actually) shows only 2gb or ram instead of 3gb ( i believe that 32bit can only address 3gb). I have 8gb system so do you think i should get 64bit windows xp or vista perhaps? What are your suggestions and experience? Thanks
     

Share This Page