AOL UK Customers

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by j_maddison, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. j_maddison macrumors 6502a

    j_maddison

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Location:
    Nelson, Wales
    #1
    hi

    If anyone is currently using AOL UK as their ISP and experiencing issues with not being able to send e mails, or reply to e mails, or have issues with sending attachments. There seems to be sporadic errors occurring.

    The issue is with AOL UK and not mobile me.

    They're servers are currently giving out blacklisted IP addresses

    Check your IP address here to see if the IP address your using is on a blacklist:

    http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx

    I've been experiencing the problems since Monday and thought the issue was with mobile me, which I've now found out is not the case.

    Jason
     
  2. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
  3. mogzieee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Yeah, I do... very annoyingly. It's properly very bad... especially in the UK.. where "America Online" is the key. Constant freezes, slow speeds, slow evenings... it's all so bad. I'm going with BT this summer as soon as the contract ends... lol.
     
  4. j_maddison thread starter macrumors 6502a

    j_maddison

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Location:
    Nelson, Wales
    #4
    In fairness they weren't that bad until Carphone Warehouse bought them out and put them on the same platform as Talk Talk. The service went down hill big style then. And yeah the evenings suck! I used to watch internet tv a lot, I don't even bother trying now. It's also pointless trying to watch any internet related sports on weekends (I don't own a tv at the moment as my house is having work done to it).

    I don't find the speed that bad once it gets going, it's the lag (latency) that can get a bit tiresome at times

    Yep I think BT is the safe choice most of the time. Mind you there might be a big kick off with ADSL2+ sometime this year. There's a lot of coverage in certain areas on the business networks, it's not being advertised but I know it's there because we kept offering it as a back up circuit for leaned lines in the last company I worked for. Then again we are in a recession now so maybe things will be delayed yet again.

    Jay
     
  5. mogzieee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    I would go for the new Virgin broadband at 50Mb, but thats probably kick-in-the-ass expensive, and not covered in my tiny village in the middle of nowhere. lol.
     
  6. j_maddison thread starter macrumors 6502a

    j_maddison

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Location:
    Nelson, Wales
    #6
    Sadly I've not heard of Virgin media, or their predecessors ntll/ telewest, rolling out their services to any areas where they previously weren't covered

    50 meg would be nice, but like you I"m in a tiny village!
     
  7. mogzieee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Phoar... expensive... I was right!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. twdawson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
    #8
    Bt drop the speeds after tea time in the UK. I know as i use it.

    On a night its bad, sometimes very bad.
     
  9. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #9
    I am just joking. My mom still uses it and swears by it

    Whatever makes you happy. If you love it, keep using it.
     

Share This Page