AP Mobile News: 1.4 released!

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by mavis, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (16GB, 2.1 PWNed): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    I haven't heard much (if any) talk about this app, but I use it daily to keep up with the news - I think it's a great little app. And it just got better: version 1.4 was released today, bringing a BIG speed boost, and drastically more responsive UI.

    I did have trouble launching the app after the upgrade - it kept saying I needed to restart. After about five attempts of finally worked, and I haven't had a problem since. I imagine we'll see a 1.4.1 which fixed this (unless I'm the only one who had problems) but in any case just try launching a few times and it will finally work. After that, it's smooth sailing. Also, the new version adds a settings pane to the Preferences app. From there, you can specify how many days' worth of news you want to have cached.

    Enjoy! :)
     
  2. det2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #2
    Did you just keep reopening the app until it worked, or did you actually have to restart your phone each time?
     
  3. scoobs031 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #3
    I had the same issue. Kept on opening the app until it worked. Seems to be working fine now.
     
  4. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (16GB, 2.1 PWNed): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    @det2004: I restarted the phone two or three times, but the time it actually started working I just restarted the app.
     
  5. jamespa66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    #5
    Same problem here, only way I got it to work was to restart the app, not the phone.
     
  6. camarobh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    Ditto.
     
  7. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7
    This update didn't work for me until I'd reinstalled the app, rebooted the phone, and tried restarting the app a couple dozen of time.
     
  8. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (16GB, 2.1 PWNed): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    It seems everyone is having problems upgrading - but what do you guys think of the new version once it's up and running? Much faster, isn't it?
     
  9. det2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    #9
    I finally got it to work, and it worked fine for a bit, and then the error popped up again when I switched news categories. :mad:
     
  10. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (16GB, 2.1 PWNed): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    Wow, that really sucks!

    I hope they fix the crashing soon, because the performance is finally decent (speed, I mean) ... :(
     
  11. Randman macrumors 65816

    Randman

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fla
  12. trunksu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #12
    i haven't had it crash yet. first thing i did was turn off the phone. turned it back on and tried it and presto. ^^ i think it's a superb app. i use it for a quick news fix.
     
  13. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #13
    I think you people are having PBKAC errors. :D

    I installed it from my phone and it worked fine a couple of hours ago. I haven't seen anything that's mega-new yet, but as a newspaper person I'm glad to see the mentioning of advertising. I like how the NY Times app does ads and it's another potential source of moola. I saw a movie preview before an AP video, but that was about it.

    It looks a little buggy because some of the stuff is the sluglines we see on our AP wire instead of headlines. That could be just something a person entering stuff did wrong, but who knows.

    Someone with AP came and talked to us about stuff like this recently. I did a WTF when she whipped out a Dell laptop, but I think more local stuff should start hitting that app as we low-end people learn how to use it. I don't forsee many smaller newspapers making iPhone apps, so this would be an awesome way to get our stuff to more people. When the economy turns itself around in a few decades, look for more stuff from local places. Until then, we struggle to get by!
     
  14. Randman macrumors 65816

    Randman

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fla
    #14
    Considering how many newspapers are dropping AP or thinking about it due to the new model (<----- journalist here), I'd be surprised if AP doesn't charge from it at some time.
     
  15. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #15
    Luckily, we're big enough that we can't drop AP because it's way cheaper than hiring more people to fill space. You'll have to inform me of the "new model" because I haven't heard much about that. All I know is they can't get friggin' AP Exchange to work on a Mac to save their lives.

    It wouldn't shock me if AP charged for running local stuff, but nothing will work if both parties don't get some profit from it.
     
  16. Randman macrumors 65816

    Randman

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fla
    #16
    AP changed their billing cycles recently and a number of large-sized papers have rebelled, either planning to drop AP service or trying to drop it now.

    The Tribune Company has become the first major newspaper chain to give notice that it will cancel its membership with the Associated Press since the recent rate restructuring, reports Editor & Publisher.
    If the Tribune follows through with cancellation, both the L.A. Times and the Chicago Tribune among a number of daily publications will no longer feature the syndicated content.
    Several other smaller papers have also given their notice over the past few months in light of the new rate-restructuring plan announced last fall, including The Star Tribune of Minneapolis, The Bakersfield Californian, The Post Register of Idaho Falls, and The Yakima Herald-Republic and Wenatchee World.
    The new plan, which will be implemented in 2009, separates breaking news content from a premium package that includes more general news and analysis at an additional cost.
    AP confirmed the Tribune notice with E&P, and issued the following blanket statement.
    "We understand that in this climate a lot of newspapers are re-examining their strategies. The Associated Press will continue to work with all members of the cooperative to ensure that we are providing the most efficient, valued and essential news service for them."
    The current contract with AP requires a two year notice of cancellation, so there is still plenty of time for some sort of negotiation with Sam Zell who has been finding various ways to cut down on costs.


    Other papers also considering this.
     
  17. Randman macrumors 65816

    Randman

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fla
    #17
    It works fine on Safari. I've even accessed it via my iPhone.
     
  18. slidetounlock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #18
    I love this update, it is way faster, I wish NY TIMES APP was this good~
     
  19. acousticbiker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #19
    Is everyone else with FW2.1 still showing all news stories dated 12/31/69?
     
  20. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #20
    deleted this app a long time ago. will give another try
     
  21. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #21
    We're running Firefox 1.5 and Safari 1.3.2. on Panther. Ya think that has something to do with it???

    The problem is we won't be able to get even Firefox 2 in a couple of months, and Firefox 3 and Safari 3 both don't work on Panther systems. AUUGGGHHH. It's one thing with expensive software, but browsers are free!
     
  22. hotsauce macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    #22
    It's faster, but what's with the Mobile News logo banner near the bottom? It's a distraction.
     
  23. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #23
    Agreed, but I like being able to see when it was last updated.
     
  24. acousticbiker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #24
    Anyone else having this problem?
     
  25. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #25
    Odd, I've never experienced this (and I use this app heavily every day) ... :confused:
     

Share This Page