APC UPS confirmation on correct model

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kitki83, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. kitki83 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Hello,

    I know this is always brought up but for someone who does not know Watts vs VA vs Jolts vs Madonnas =P

    Anyway I have severe electrical problems goes out and comes back within seconds and my UPS I got sucks straight out, and I am freaking worried that my mac pro is going to go digzzzzz. I am a rush to get a UPS so through reading past post on this topic and trying to understand what is my electrical consumption on my setup and finding correct APC model.

    I went by Watts to determine my needs and rounded the watts

    Mac Pro (2007) 100watts
    19in LCD 40 watts
    4 internal hard drives 20 watts
    external HD 50watts

    210 watts is my rough estimate needed

    So those who know about Va, V and Watts is this model APC
    will fit my needs especially when electrical comes and goes fast, (insurance still investigating to fix it)

    Thank you for your time
    RM
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    That is a bit of overkill, but it is better to be over cautious than not having enough power.

    TEG
     
  3. kitki83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    How much overkill? The website said I will have 30 minutes if I was under what I put in watts (Plus Buy.com the lower models of the same series are basically the same price)
    Comparison to same series lower end Link

    for those who want that link for reference:Link
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    I just mean you can run many more devices. It looks exactly what you should use.

    TEG
     
  5. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #5
    watch out for the wake-up surge

    I am running an APC Back-UPS XS 1500 LCD which looks identical to the one you linked to (don't remember what the difference was with XS or RS units). I replaced a 1000VA unit which was having surge problems with the Mac Pro wakeup from sleep and the 30" ACD not lighting up. I have had no problems since replacing it with the larger one. I probably get around 20-30 minutes of run time after a power failure before it shuts the system down. It has been tested a lot this winter with all the snow and ice storms, and has worked out great!

    I am a big fan of APC products, and have their units protecting all my computers and PVRs (ReplayTV or TIVO) that have hard disks in them. So far, no regrets!

    -howard
     
  6. ErikAndre macrumors 6502a

    ErikAndre

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    I just picked one of these up for my MP... not overkill at all by any means. I have quite a lot plugged into it and the load is on two bars.

    I put one of my two 22" monitors and MP on the battery (nothing else), and the battery says it can provide 23 minutes of power in the case of a power out. Without the monitor, the LCD indicates it can go for 37 minutes.

    The difference between the XS and the RS are as follows (as decribed in an Amazon review):
    1. RS model has additional phone/fax/model/10/100base-T ethernet protection. The XS only has phone/fax/modem protection.
    2. Auto Voltage Regulation is capable of BOOST (due from low voltage) and TRIM (from over voltage). Again, the XS model only has BOOST, and no TRIM feature. ​
     
  7. hugodrax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #7
    I have that same model, Actually I liked it enough I ended up order 100 more :) for other site use.

    I got a Mac PRo 4 cpu 2.66, 1900XT, 8GB,2 drive, 23inch cinema, Cisco ASA5505 firewall, dsl modem attached to it and it shows a load of 27%

    I look at how many power events occurred and I show 97 events. (I live in south florida.)

    Cool when the lights do go out to still have everything going event internet and the screen.
     
  8. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    The Cyberpower CP1500AVRLCD available at buycom is also an excelent product with good reviews (and MAC compatible). We have several. 1500VA is the sweet spot for desktops, you could probably get away with a 1000VA model, but most who buy those would buy 1500 VA if they had to do it over again. The AVRLCD was on sale last week.
     
  9. kitki83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    That is what I really wanted to know someone with same situation and has 2 LCD monitors in case I need to expand.

    Thank you all for helping.
     
  10. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #10
    I would always go with the APC Smart-UPS rather than the Back-UPS. It produces a pure sine wave, the Back-UPS does not.
     
  11. kitki83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11

    Those models are for coporation's servers, what makes them different?
    I read on the internet you can buy a converter to make UPS pure sine wave, do you know anything about it? I can't find wiki article that explains this. Most sources are 1994 dated.

    Thank you
     
  12. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #12
    They are higher quality, give better protection, boost the power in brownouts and produce a pure sine wave, which, according to an APC technician is desirable for the Mac Pro power supply.

    Re the converter: I haven't heard of such a device, but I imagine that it would lower the VA rating of the UPS.

    Here's the one I recommend. It has plenty of headroom for a Mac Pro and accessories. It is a bit pricy, but then you've spent a lot on the Mac Pro:

    http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=SUA1500&total_watts=50
     
  13. Mr.PS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
  14. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #14
    No, it produces a stepped sine wave, not a pure one.
     
  15. Mr.PS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #15
    I see, damn I'd really go for the sine wave.
     
  16. Mr.PS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #16
    Does APC make a sine wave unit with an LCD display?
     
  17. eyecool macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #17
    I got my MP on Friday but have been using it sparingly until I get the UPS you guys were talking about on here. the APC RS 1500VA. I went to Fry's and they only carried the XS model for $200. I like Amazon b/c 1. no tax 2. free 2 day shipping w/ my Prime acct. Also checked Sam's and Costco.. same thing as Fry's..

    That RS 1500VA looks like a great deal for $210. Anyone else using it or using something comparable?
     
  18. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #18
    Mr.PS They all produce a sine wave, but the Back-UPS produces a stepped sine wave and the Smart-UPS a pure one.

    What do you need an LCD display for? I don't think they do, but I haven't checked. Call APC and tell them you're requirements, they're happy to spend any amount of time on advice to customers in my experience. Incidentally, they are also great with customer service, having replaced two units for me over the years for free that were far out of warranty.
     

Share This Page