Aperture 2.6 Unsupported Image Format

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by CiscoKid!, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. CiscoKid! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #1
    I just shot a bunch of RAW photos on my new Canon 6D and I get the Unsupported Image Format warning on Aperture...
    How do I import and manipulate my RAW photos on Aperture 2.6???
    I can see all the thumbnails; I just can't open them.
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    It's Aperture 2.6, not 3.6? What OS are you using?
     
  3. CiscoKid! thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #3
    Aperture version

    This is an older Mac and an older version of Aperture.
    Mac OS is 10.5.8
    Aperture is 2.6
    Thanks!

    ----------

    This is an older Mac and an older version of Aperture.
    Mac OS is 10.5.8
    Aperture is 2.6
    Thanks!
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    Which version of RAW support do you have, I'd suspect that the 6D is only supported by a later version of Camera RAW than you can have on that OS, or you can have it but Aperture 2.6 can't read it - but I think the first option.

    Solution would be to revert to a supported camera or upgrade the OS and Camera RAW.

    You see the thumbnails because they are jpeg and almost anything can read those.
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    Unfortunately this OS and Aperture are too old to use the 6D files. You need to be on at least 10.7.5 with Camera Raw update 4.0.3 to work with them.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    RAW processing is done via the OS, and since you have a much older operating system, the RAW file format is not supported. You'll need to see what it will take to upgrade to a later version of Aperture and OS X.
     
  7. dwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #7
    +1

    Rule #1 with RAW files is that when you update your camera you must update your RAW converter to one that is newer than the camera.

    Rule #2 with RAW files is that if you are using Apple software on MacOSX your RAW converter is the OS, not the application, thus it is the OS the must be newer than your camera.
     
  8. sarge macrumors 6502a

    sarge

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #8
  9. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    I think trying to go DNG or TIF is ignoring the core problem....the OS is simply too old if iPhoto or Aperture are to be used.

    If possible for the hardware, update to Yosemite and latest Aperture release. If your hardware is so old it will not run Mavericks or Yosemite, time to plan the hardware replacement. Even if a Mac still boots, that does not make it a good thing to have if you can't run the desired apps.

    If you can't run new OS, you can migrate to LR 5. But Adobe has already stated that LR 6 will for 64bit OS releases only. So again, it you can't run a 64bit version of Mac OS, time to plan the replacement.
     
  10. Padaung macrumors 6502

    Padaung

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    For older hardware, I'd recommend sarge's solution: convert to DNG using Adobe's free dng converter.

    I use this method when I have to edit D600 images on my 2007 Macbook (which is runing OS 10.6.8, which doesn't support the D600 NEF files).

    The converted dng files import perfectly fine into Aperture and the image quality of the conversion is not an issue. However, the conversion does take time, so this is definitely a less than ideal solution.

    I only need to use my Macbook for in the field editing very infrequently so I can't justify the purchase of a newer laptop (I have a new Mac Mini at home running the latest version of Aperture, which natively supports the D600 files).

    If you frequently need to edit images on your laptop I would recommend updating your hardware and OS.

    Hope that helps making a decision.
     
  11. OreoCookie macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Location:
    Sendai, Japan
    #11
    This. Even if you migrate to Lightroom 5 instead of Aperture 3, you're just hanging on by the skin of your teeth because you already know that the next version won't run on it. It's time for a new machine.
     
  12. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    I've had issues with Aperture rendering DNG files, so this is not guarantee. Plus I hate using a proprietary file format, this can burn you in the long run, when you no longer have your original RAW files.
     
  13. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #13
    To be fair, raw files are as proprietary as DNG. Otherwise, Aperture's DNG support is not on par with its native raw handling so if I were doing a lot of image editing on that computer, I'd look at updating the necessary parts of the workflow to be more compatible with the EOS 6D.
     
  14. robgendreau macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #14
    'tis true. In fact RAW are even MORE proprietary than DNG, which is an open spec. But I expect the point is that DNG is not as raw as RAW, if you will.

    Some of the open source software might run on a very old machine and be able to convert the RAW. Rawtherapee, eg, goes back to OS 10.6. Or maybe you could make a Ubuntu boot drive with Rawtherapee and batch convert.
     
  15. OreoCookie macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Location:
    Sendai, Japan
    #15
    All of these are crutches, not solutions.
     
  16. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #16
    Yup, but I'd rather have the what came out of the camera then the DNG file that may or may not be supported. I've had issues with DNG once, it scared me away.
     

Share This Page