Aperture 2 & Time Machine

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by petvas, Feb 17, 2008.

1. petvas macrumors 601

petvas

I have problem backing up my aperture library using Time Machine under Mac OS X 10.5.2. I see in console.log the following entry:

"/System/Library/CoreServices/backupd[6940] Node requires deep traversal:/Users/petvas/Pictures/Aperture Library.aplibrary reason:kFSEDBEventFlagContainsChanges|kFSEDBEventFlagMustScanSubDirs|kFSEDBEventFlagReasonFSEvent|kFSEDBEventFlagReasonMissedReservation| "

If I close Aperture, then Time Machine backs up the library with no problems. This is a big issue for me as I recently migrated from iPhoto. I am not a professional Photographer, I just like the advanced features of Aperture. If this problem persists I will return to iPhoto...

2. myod-rules macrumors newbie

Time Machine and Aperture do not work together. Unlike iPhoto, Time Machine cannot "see" into the Aperture library to show you changes at the individual photo level. Time Machine sees your Aperture library as a single massive file, and backs up the whole thing whenever you tweak a picture.

Aperture has it's own back-up tool built into the app - called Vaults.

I think there a directions on Apple's site, but I'll summarize:
    1) Go to the Time Machine preferences and EXCLUDE your Aperture library from Time Machine back-ups.
    2) Go to Aperture and set up a new vault for your library. My vault is on the same drive as my Time Machine, which is not optimal, but it works.

3. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

Benjamindaines

If Time Machine were to back up the Aperture Library while Aperture was running, due to the way Aperture works, it would cause inconsistencies in the library (basically it would get corrupted). That is Apple's solution, while Aperture is running don't touch the Library and then back it up when you quite Aperture.

4. petvas thread starter macrumors 601

petvas