Aperture 3.6 and Yosemite

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mtbdudex, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. mtbdudex macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #1
    I've not updated to Yosemite or 3.6 yet, who here has?

    Besides "stability improvements" any hidden Easter eggs found.
     
  2. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68000

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    I was hoping that you'd go first. ;)
     
  3. fcortese, Oct 21, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2014

    fcortese macrumors demi-god

    fcortese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Big Sky country
    #3
    Peter & Mike, If you follow some of the reports on the thread here at MR for Yosemite, there appears to be some problems with WiFi connectivity. I saw only one person ask about Aperture and Yosemite but no one as far as I can see had responded. Joseph over at www.thephotosexpert.com (formerly ApertureExpert) has used both and worked on some photos and did not run into any problems. However, he had just gotten a new Mac with Yosemitealready installed and did not upgrade to a prior OSX. I don't know if that makes a difference. Only one person reported trouble with NIK plugin and one person reported that not all of his photos uploaded to Aperture (he got black screens for some of his photos). So that's why I am holding off and waiting for 10.10.1 to be released by Apple ;) That and the fact that I'm waiting for my budget goal to be reached to get a new MBP :D However, i would be interested to hear from those who have taken the plunge. Please lets know what your experiences are; good or bad.
     
  4. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68000

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    Thanks very much for this Florian...much appreciated. Sounds like waiting 10.10.1 is a good idea. I fully support letting someone else work-out the kinks.

    ~ Peter
     
  5. fcortese macrumors demi-god

    fcortese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Big Sky country
    #5
    :eek: Hmmm, some interesting tidbit of info found when someone searched Google NIK re: compatibility of OS systems
     
  6. kallisti macrumors 65816

    kallisti

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #6
    I had a minor glitch during my upgrade process. Upgraded to Yosemite. Then installed the Aperture update via the App Store. The update seemed to go fine. Afterwards, Aperture was still showing up as 3.5.1 in my applications folder and wouldn't open. Tried opening through the App store (clicking on the "open" button on the Aperture page) without success.

    Moved Aperture from the applications folder to the trash and deleted the trash. The App store was still showing the "open" button and nothing still happened. Did a restart, and the App store button changed from "open" to "install." After clicking on "install" got a dialogue saying the installed version of Aperture wasn't purchased on the App store. Hit the "buy" button and 3.6 installed without issues, opens as expected, and library/settings appear intact.

    Hoping that "buy" was similar to the iOS app store when restoring previous purchases (should since the App store is showing the Aperture purchase date as 10/23/13).
     
  7. Dc2006ster, Oct 24, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014

    Dc2006ster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #7
    I have and no problems. My Nik plugins work but the Perfect Photo Suite do not - still have to fiddle with those.

    Edit. There is an update for Perfect Photosuite in Yosemite and this solves the problem

    http://www.ononesoftware.com/support/360/
     
  8. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #8
    You only need the PPS 8.5.2 update until the end of next week when PPS 9 will be released. Let's how OnOneSoftware has fully tested PPS 9 with Yosemite.
     

Share This Page