Aperture 3 and Lightroom 3 on MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Dammit Cubs, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. Dammit Cubs macrumors 68000

    Dammit Cubs

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #1
    I am absolutely surprise how well both these programs run on my MBA. Surprisingly, both of these programs are running better than the more powerful mac mini. It's probably the power of the SSD.

    Love it!

    Side note: which one do people prefer? Im using both now.
     
  2. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #2
    I personally use Lightroom, and I really love it! I have a catalog of photos from the previous year on my MBA, and another catalog on two different hard drives of all my photos. Occasionally I'll merge the catalog on my MBA onto the HDs as a backup system. Has been working great!
     
  3. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #3
    Good to know about Lightroom. I wondered about that.
     
  4. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #4
    Forgot to ask: how much ram/memory is needed on the MBA to run Lightroom? Will 2GB do it? Or is 4GB a must?

    Thanks...
     
  5. Dammit Cubs thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dammit Cubs

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #5
    I don't know if this is any indication but to run lightroom, the program seems very light especially compared to aperture. The program alone is only 80MB. Compared to the 700MB aperture 3. That said, I can tell that Aperture 3 does bog down alot more than lightroom. Lightroom everything was fine, but I can see the bottleneck was ram.

    On my mac mini (2GB of ram). Lightroom 3 ran fine. Aperture 3 was slow at times when changing files (shoot in RAW).

    On the macbook air, both didn't seem to have a problem, but I am running on 4GB of ram. so...i don't know if thats the culprit here.
     
  6. tmoerel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #6
    It all depends. If you are processing small JPG's 2Gb will be ample. If you want to process big RAW files and you do quite a bit of processing on each then 4Gb will make things a lot faster.

    In short, when working with RAW files get all the RAM you can!!!
     
  7. zulumonk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #8
    I would just like to know if the OP is using JPG or RAW. I'm also looking into purchasing either Lightroom or Aperture, but can't seem to choose between the two.
     
  8. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #9
    You can download a 30 day free trial for each application. :)
     

Share This Page