Aperture 3 ram usage

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by brentg33, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. brentg33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have a mid 2011 iMac running 10.7.2 (3.4 i7 w/ 8GB ram) I have the SSD and HD combo
    I also have a early 2007 MBP running 10.7.2 (2.14 C2D w/ 3GB ram) I only have the stock 160GB HD
    They both have Aperture 3.2.1 running. According to stat menus, Aperture on my iMac usually uses some where between 950mb to 1.50 GB of ram at a given time. on the MBP its somewhere between 600 - 800 MBs.
    I was just wondering why the difference and if the ram usage for Aperture on my iMac is unusually high.

    thanks
     
  2. ufkdo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Location:
    Turkey
    #2
    It is simply because your imac has more RAM. Since it has more RAM, I believe that your system does not have to free up same amount of memory as your MBP to be able to continue other processes.
     
  3. brentg33 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #3
    thanks, i had a feeling it was related to that. However is over a 1GB average usage for aperture?
     
  4. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
  5. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #5
    Ditto - on a 2008 iMac with 6GB of RAM, Aperture will go up to 3GB after editing for a little while. It seems the more you have, the more it takes if nothing else needs it. I've read reports of those having 12GB of RAM and Aperture eventually taking up ~8GB.
     

Share This Page