Aperture 3 Vs. Photoshop

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by clarkkent18, Jun 1, 2011.

1. clarkkent18 macrumors member

First off, I am new to Mac’s and I am still learning all that it has to offer me. I am getting back into photography (when I first started I was using Canon 35mm and digital cameras where not out yet) and I do not know which program is better. I know that Photoshop has been around for years and everyone knows about it, but I have never really used it. Now that I have a Mac, I have been told the Aperture is a good program for photo editing. But which one is better? Aperture is only like 80 bucks (US) and Photoshop is close to a grand (US). Here is some background to help you out.

Why do I need a photo editing software and what do I take pictures of? Back when I first got into photography, I was really into shooting sporting events (waterpolo, football, baseball) for local high schools, which I am looking at getting back into. Not to long ago, I have been asked to go to local bands and shoot them while they are playing, so I have had some fun with that. But where my true passion lays is in nature, mainly small creak, waterfalls, and the landscape.

Right now I just want to clean up the pictures that I have and not real doing anything high tech just yet. Right now, I am not looking at taking the drummers head off and replacing it with the mine (if you know what I mean). But I might want to start doing that later on, once I get better and know what I am doing. Besides cleaning up the color, I would like to try and remove some weeds or leaves that happen to get into the shot. When shooting local bands I would like to touch up there faces and highlight some of there facial features.