Aperture after Yosemite upgrade

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by conamor, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. conamor macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    Anyone notice a difference in the loading time of Aperture on Yosemite?

    I takes way longer than before. Library didn't get bigger (currently 350GB).

    Let me know,
    Thanks

    Note: iMac 27in Late 2012, i7 3.4GHz, 32GB ram, 3TB Fusion
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I don't notice any difference on 2014 rMBP with about 8GB of photos only though.
     
  3. Attonine macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Location:
    Kent. UK
    #3
    The only difference I've noticed is that after the Aperture update for Yosemite, the double arrows for full screen in the top right of the Aperture screen have disappeared and now the buttons in the top left corner of Aperture control this, in line with other apps in Yosemite.
     
  4. tgara macrumors 6502a

    tgara

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
    #4
    Did you upgrade your Aperture to version 3.6 after you installed Yosemite?

    FYI, I did not see any performance changes using Aperture 3.6 and Yosemite OS 10.10.
     
  5. conamor thread starter macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #5
    Hi,

    Yes everything is up to date... What is weird is that my iphoto seems to take my aperture library now, wasn't doing that before I think... iPhoto is extremely fast to open, but Aperture stays slow. I am not sure what's wrong
     
  6. tgara macrumors 6502a

    tgara

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
    #6
    As you may know, the so-called Unified Library allows Aperture and iPhoto to share libraries. You might want to check your settings on iPhoto. Something might have gotten changed such that iPhoto now looks at your Aperture Library.

    As for the speed, I don't know what to tell you because many things can slow it down. How full is your hard disk? Aperture is known for slowing down when a system disk gets full.
     
  7. conamor thread starter macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #7
    3TB and there is around 2TB free

    I am not sure if I should try to uninstall Aperture and reinstall.

    If that doesn't work... maybe recreating the lib and creating a library per year or something?

    But again, I like to have 1 library with everything but I suppose that in 10 years from now the library will be 3TB... Argh
     
  8. tgara macrumors 6502a

    tgara

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
    #8
    You might try some of Aperture's repair tools. These may speed things up.

    http://documentation.apple.com/en/aperture/usermanual/index.html#chapter=27&section=10&tasks=true
     
  9. conamor thread starter macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
  10. colorspace macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #10
    Aperture 3.6 and Yosemite

    Preliminary testing of Ap 3.6 and 10.10 seemed to go well for me on my MBP 13" '12. That said performance was not fantastic as I was running Yosemite off of an external 7200RPM drive rather than my internal solid state - but it wasn't worse than expected off of an old drive. Haven't extensively tested though due to the wifi issues with Yosemite.
     
  11. conamor thread starter macrumors 6502

    conamor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #11
    It's back fast now... I did a option + CTRL click or something like that and it seems to have repaired or made back the link to the database... it was still opening but very slow and after that trick. Problem is solved!
     

Share This Page