Aperture (Apple lost a sale)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Architect4122, Dec 30, 2007.

1. Architect4122 macrumors regular

When I first got my MBP I played around to see what it could do. Well, part of that was using the Aperture and iWork. So this means that when I started playing with these my 30 days started.

Well, that was a few months ago so I can't use those trials without buying the product.

For christmas I received a dSLR that shoots RAW. I didn't know I was going to get this at the time I was seeing what Aperture was all about.

So, I downloaded the demo of Adobe Lightroom to compare to Aperture. I knew my Aperture 30 days was up, but now I really needed to use it. So I called seeing if there was any way to try it out, get a new s/n or something.

All they told me was one time trial, and thats it. I could possibly completely reinstall the OS and see if it works....ummm no!

So, I guess I can't try Aperture from the comfort of my home, but I can Lightroom. They just lost the sale of one of their Pro Applications.

Oh well, I was looking forward to playing with them both :(

[any ideas?]

**CLIFF NOTES**

Used up Aperture trial months back not knowing I would be receiving a nice camera.
    Have new camera and want to see which application is best for photos: Aperture or Lightroom
    Called to see if Apple would give me another 30 days for Aperture to compare to Lightroom, as the first time I used Aperture I didn't have a camera to fully utilize its features.
    Stuck with only lightroom trial now...want to compare it to Aperture, but can't.
    Self-owned due to unforeseen acquisition of nice camera.

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

I guess this doesn't exist...

I never got around to using the trial though.

3. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

Big-TDI-Guy

I don't advocate piracy - but if you google this - you can find a way around it. (to extend it for another 30 days) Without reinstalling your OS.

4. dejo Moderator